SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

View Poll Results: d/weaver and PHP

Voters
6. You may not vote on this poll
  • okish

    1 16.67%
  • okish!

    3 50.00%
  • great!!

    0 0%
  • grrreat!!

    2 33.33%
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Dreamweaver 4.0 and PHP 4.0

    guys..

    I plan to use dreamweaver to design a page and the incorp. PHP in it. question: when i save as a PHP file.. d/w saves it in a txt file for me. all my graphics are lost. How do i go aobut designing a site (such as this), with graphics and all, yet save it as a php file?

    What webpage editor/builder do you guys use?

    Thanks a bill!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I personally use AceHTML and Homesite to design pages. They are both great editors.

    Here are some of the most common editors:

    Homesite
    FirstPage 2000
    EditPad
    TextPad
    EditPlus
    AceHTML
    CuteHTML
    NotePad
    All of those editors are freeware/shareware besides Homesite.

    Here are links:

    http://allaire.com/
    http://evrsoft.com/
    http://editpadlite.com/
    http://textpad.com/
    http://www.editplus.com/
    http://freeware.acehtml.com/
    http://cutehtml.com/
    Start: Run: notepad

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Aidan..

    I know about these editors.. am using AceHTML right now! Problem is.. I don't have time to "hard-code" line by line.. esp when inserting graphics and all that.. I prefer to work in a GUI environment.. hence I use D/Weaver. But I can't save it as a PHP file without losing all the graphics and stuff.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh, sorry for misreading your question.

    I don't know of any way around it, besides creating the design in Dreamweaver and then inserting the PHP. If you include comments in both PHP and HTML, you shouldn't loose too much time.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard johnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Posts
    1,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,
    What you need is a template to separate php codes and html files. Read this phplib template article

    John

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast nguip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I heard that Namo is currently the only HTML editor which can embeded PHP code...

    Maybe you can have a try...
    Ngu I.P.
    Web Developer

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast nguip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Forgot the URL just now...

    Here is it Namo Web Editor
    Ngu I.P.
    Web Developer

  8. #8
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    430
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I use DW with PHP why do you get it to save as text files?? I just save as .php ??

    If you use it to full effect it can be a good combination, . I do the layout html in DW and the php in homesite, then save code snippets as DW library items which makes them easy to drop anywhere. The only time it doesn't show the images is when they are between <? ?> tags.

    I've never had any problems

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    maybe you can try create a blank .php file first.
    then open it with dreamweaver.

    i also can save .php file with dreamweaver 4.
    but i use 'save as' function as the original is in html format.

  10. #10
    You want what? By when?? Milamber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    WOAH

    Ok woah people!


    I use dreamweaver in both mac and pc and on BOTH platforms i have NO problems with PHP in DW. Here's how i set it up:


    Go into Preferences:General and TURN OFF "Add Extension When Saving"

    Then goto Code Rewriting and in the "Never Rewrite Code" field add ".php .php3 .phtml" etc etc.

    Now the kicker:

    Goto File Types / Editors and add the file type ".php .phtml .php3" etc etc. Now chose as the editor for this file "Dreamweaver"


    Now you should be able to open php files JUST FINE. It'll even show you a little image (if you have show invisibles on) where the php code is. I have NEVER had a problem with DW opening php files once it is set to.


    Also, you can do all your layout etc within DW as well as the PHP code.


    Hope that works for ya,
    -Jeff Minard | jrm.cc - Battlefield 2 Stats

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    North Central AR
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use both DW4 and Homesite 4.5, they both have their pro's and con's, but I have yet to do everything in one. With DW4 I do all my web/html page creation, I am a lazy WYSIWYG coder, just faster and more pleasent for me. Plus I LOVE DW's site/ftp deployment.

    With homesite, I like to code php, with it's color coding it's much easier to see your code and whats going on. Also with the php expression builder add-on, it makes it even better. While it is not perfect, it has often showed me when I made a mistake or forget a \ or " or ;. The other thing I love about Homesite is it SUPER easy find and replace. While DW has find and replace, it can get a like complicated, more than it needs to be. If you have many pages, homesites replace is perfect.

    Just my thoughts.

    ronnie
    The largest selection of PLR Articles on the Planet!
    Many Private Label Rights Products.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    great! Thanks for the help guys....

    Have adjusted DW4.. it should run fine!

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast cragthehack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL. USA
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are a few "extensions" available for DW that can help with php. One allows let you insert php code while still in the GUI. For DW UltraDev check out http://dynamic.macromedia.com/bin/MM...radev/main.jsp and for regular DW check out http://dynamic.macromedia.com/bin/MM...eaver/main.jsp

    Also, I use UltraDev cause most of my work is ASP and MSSQL. I'm moving to php and mySQL (Thankfully. Actually, MS SQL is not cheap, and I'm a little worried about .NET).

    There has also been a strong push asking Macromedia to included php (and .NET ASP for that matter) in the next release.
    - crag
    net geek for non profits and political campaings

  14. #14
    midnight coder
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    The flat edge of the world
    Posts
    838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It'll be a lot easier if you separate the PHP and the HTML design, then just use something like PHPLib's template.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Member atem451's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi there!
    try this:

    http://www.geocities.com/php4ud/

    It's still kind of beta, but if you need fast update or insert-forms (and some other stuff), its really cool....
    Footbag: Spread the Spirit


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •