SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Wizard Another Designer's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Should I design samples for job interview?

Sigh...
    I am going on a job interview this week. Actually, I have two.
    One of the job interviewers wants me to create a sample. I have never gotten a job after creating a job sample... NEVER! I have heard it is not good to do this either. Shouldn't my work be enough?

What do you think? Would you create a small job sample as a test? I have been doing this for over five years. Isn't my portfolio enough?

Thanks

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd put every effort into a sample if they've given you a chance to sell yourself in this manner. Speculative work goes with the turf, do a winning design, be positive, and get the job :-)

working hard is hard work

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was interviewed by a firm 1 1/2 weeks ago and they asked me to create some samples...it got me the job.

good luck!

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I think it's a pretty good idea, if they get you to do it in-house. Your portfolio could well be enough, but these guys may want to see how you work with their guidelines/brief, how effecient you are, etc.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I don't think it's unreasonable. It's kind of like when programmers go to a interview and they are asked to write some code. I've had several interviews where they've given me a pencil, piece of paper, and told me a problem i need to solve (illustrate a linked list, recursion, fibonicci sequence, etc. ) Not only are they looking to see how I solve a problem, they want to look at my coding style...Do I use comments, do I follow naming conventions, etc.

Just go with an open mind and do your best. That's great you got the interviews. Good luck.
    Sara

ALT.NET - because we need it silver trophybronze trophy dhtmlgod's Avatar