SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sitepoint Window Question

    I was wondering if their is a way to change the settings in SitePoint so that when you click a link that is posted say via the Marketplace, it opens in a new window? I find myself opening lots of new pages through here then exiting the window that I wanted to be in.

  2. #2
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I may be wrong, but I do not think there is a setting to make all links do this by default, but in IE you can right click a link and choose "open in new window" in FF you can do teh same and choose a new window or tab and also you can use the mouse scroll wheel (if you have one) and click a link and open a new tab. (though this may be a extension)

    I am unsure of Opera's features as to opening new windows and tabs but I am sure it also has this ability

    Hope it helps

  3. #3
    Night Elf silver trophybronze trophy Varelse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    eu
    Posts
    5,967
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Shift+click in IE or ctrl+click in FireFox (hopefully it's default setting) - new tab.
    FreelanceDaddy - freelancer's personal advisor
    █ Guide and advice for freelancers starting their career
    █ Over 1000 projects posted on freelance markets every day
    █ One-stop resource for online freelancing

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict bcr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnny Gulag
    you can use the mouse scroll wheel (if you have one) and click a link and open a new tab. (though this may be a extension)
    You can do this without installing an extension.

    Shift + click = Window [IE/FF]
    Ctrl + click = Tab [FF]

  5. #5
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bcr
    You can do this without installing an extension.

    Shift + click = Window [IE/FF]
    Ctrl + click = Tab [FF]
    I can center click with out any ctrl + ... just the scroll wheel. I have some extension installed. I think it is tab clicking options

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict bcr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnny Gulag
    I can center click with out any ctrl + ... just the scroll wheel. I have some extension installed. I think it is
    Sorry, I think my post may have been confusing.

    I can click the scroll wheel which then opens the link in a new tab. I didn't have to install any extensions to be able to do this.

    I just said those other options incase you didn't have a mouse with a scroll wheel on it.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Bleys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    RI-USA
    Posts
    5,621
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Same here, no extension and the scroll wheel opens the link in a new tab... it's a great feature. I use it often.
    Josh is an anomaly
    rails & work & twitter

    Organization is the
    death of creativity.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard Dean C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    2,906
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah scroll wheel is a godsend

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks a lot guys! Im currently in school useing their IE default but I use Opera at home. I will try the scrollwheel thing, and if not just click open in new window.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard Dean C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    2,906
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have a private user area with a small bit of hard-drive space you can install a portable version of firefox or opera on it


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •