SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How important is content to a prospective employer?

Hi,

my first question on this forum, so forgive me if I ramble .

I currently work as a programmer (VB, C, Oracle SQL etc.), but ideally I'd like to move into web development. There's no scope for this kind of work with my current employer, so I've been trying to pick up web skills in my spare time for a few months now. I'm aiming to work for a company as a developer, rather than starting my own business or working freelance - at least at first.

I have a growing knowledge of HTML, ASP and PHP - the first site I ever wrote was completely database-driven, allowed for multiple users updating the content etc. However I'm well aware that there's a lot more I need to learn, so I'm planning to work on a few projects over the next few months to improve my skills before I seriously look for new employment.

The problem is that I'm writing these sites in my spare time, and I don't know where to focus my efforts - having no clients means I have no-one telling me what to do, and as I'm doing this in spare time I don't want to take on jobs and commit myself to timescales I might not be able to meet. There are several sites I could happily write that tie in with hobbies of mine - mainly online gaming - which would let me further develop my ASP/PHP skills; but I'm concerned that, when I put these sites on a CV, they might be dismissed because the content isn't business-oriented and may seem... immature, for want of a better word.