User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How fast is mysql?

Would php and mysql be fast enough to handle a website with a million members who makes a total of 20million queries in a month?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mySQL is blisteringly fast - it's built for speed. HOWEVER, it is not too good at handling a huge number of simultaneous connections. I have no experience runing mySQL on a high traffic site, but there are a few guys on here such as MattR who have plenty of experience with this kind of thing and will hopefully give you a good answer In the meantime it would be handy to know a few more things about your site - how many hits it gets, how much database interaction you want to include etc etc etc.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am not a high-end expert, but what I saw and read around is:

1. MySQL is the fastest database if you only read from it (SELECT ...). If your site would be something like a site with news from the IT industry, where many people only "read" pages and updates are quite rare (comparing to "reads") the MySQL would be the best. I still don't know if it scales to such a heavy load.

2. If your site is something which is often updated as well as read (e.g. a huge message board), a databases like PostgreSQL seems better, as they better handle locking data during writes.

I know that there are newest updates to MySQL, which brings transactions and probably better locking to MySQL but I haven't seen any test of it.
    On the other hand I heard that PostreSQL is getting more stable and faster with each release.

Chris

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)