SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Menus & google?

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru Logus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    I'm right behind you.
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Menus & google?

    Hello there


    Check out the menu I built on http://www.loadmove.com can google spider those links?
    Tutorials Search Engine: FindTutorials

  2. #2
    Forums Designer
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are talking about menu that is in header (one that starts with "Boats") then no. Those are javascript links, not text links.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru Logus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    I'm right behind you.
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Damn, hmm I think I'll keep that menu anyway looks ok doesn't it?
    Tutorials Search Engine: FindTutorials

  4. #4
    Forums Designer
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, it looks good.

    But there are ways to make similar menu that can be spidered by search engines. This is the best one: http://www.alistapart.com/articles/dropdowns/

  5. #5
    ♪♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪♪ ♪ ♪♪ Markdidj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bournemouth, South UK
    Posts
    1,551
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could better it with a submenu under the main menu with the current folders links contained within it. Then change the shape and contents with javascript.
    LiveScript: Putting the "Live" Back into JavaScript
    if live output_as_javascript else output_as_html end if

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru Logus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    I'm right behind you.
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Like on http://www.webhostingtalk.com/

    ?

    I was told that their links are not being spidered... can someone explain?
    Tutorials Search Engine: FindTutorials

  7. #7
    ♪♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪♪ ♪ ♪♪ Markdidj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bournemouth, South UK
    Posts
    1,551
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no, not like that Their links are javascript based as well. Take a look at my homepage. With javascript off the links in the submenu are relevent to the folder, and with javascript all links are seen and are made dynamic. Google will follow each link as it goes to each folder.
    LiveScript: Putting the "Live" Back into JavaScript
    if live output_as_javascript else output_as_html end if

  8. #8
    Non-Member Icheb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,474
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just make the text "Boats", "Harley Davidson" etc. normal links and point them to a page with links to the subcategories. Done .

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru Logus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    I'm right behind you.
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm, I have no idea how to do that - is anyone willing to do that? I'll pay you (via pay pal).
    Tutorials Search Engine: FindTutorials

  10. #10
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,423
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    How to test if your menu is spiderable by search engines (and also acceible to the handicapped): turn off css and javascript. Can you still navigate your site? If yes, then you're ok. If not, time to ditch it and make a new one. And no, a sitemap is not a suitable "fix". It may help search engines but it doesn't help handicapped users.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •