SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Port Sunlight
    Posts
    815
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE6 redraw problems

    Can someone have a look at this site:

    www.b2bnative.com/arden/

    And when you click through to various sections the bottom element redraws itself again, and causes an unpleasant flicker. The client is driving me mad, and if I can figure this out, I can tell him to pay up and go away.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist Alexandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is something that happens with IE and cannot be fixed (as far as I know). It is the way the browser displays the page. One get-around (although not a solution) is to setup your browser to "Automatically" or 'Never" look for new versions of the page in the Internet Options, Temporary Internet Files settings...This doesn't always work though.
    Alex Graham
    Cadmium Design & Development
    www.cadmium.com.au
    alexandra@cadmium.com.au

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Port Sunlight
    Posts
    815
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you check the page because the client refuses to believe that IE is not the best browser

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist Alexandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes I did. Apart from not using IE, you would need to make the image smaller so there is less to load, thus making the flicker less noticeable. It's just one of those things that happens.
    Alex Graham
    Cadmium Design & Development
    www.cadmium.com.au
    alexandra@cadmium.com.au

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot metho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's a few things I've done in the past to alleviate this problem. In your situation, I'd try javascript preloading of the applicable the css image in the head tag. Give the footer div a black bg colour as well. I'd also consider using " " in all your empty divs.
    Code:
    <head>
    ..snip..
    <script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
    <!-- hide
    if(document.images){
    	loadImg1 = new Image
    	loadImg2 = new Image
    	loadImg3 = new Image
    	loadImg1.src = "/arden/_images/footer.png"
    	loadImg2.src = "/arden/_images/footer2.png"
    	loadImg3.src = "/arden/_images/footer3.png"
    }
    // end hide -->
    </script>
    </head>
    Just remove the image instances that dont apply to each page... Hopefully some of this will help

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Port Sunlight
    Posts
    815
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, the client is being a complete idiot, and has decided to start ripping up my code that validated and drop in his own <marquee> tags?????

    He has also dropped the <font> tags into the code!!! No!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    So i'm quite inclined to let him have it. Quite literally.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •