SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Seo Attack?

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Seo Attack?

    Ok guys i had somehting really weird happen to me and I dont know if its an attack or what. I have been working on this website (http://www.fortwaynediningguide.com) for like 4 months now, and was gonna take it live when it was finished.
    I just installed an IP logger the other day and see that I had alot of visitors and that they were coming from yahoo.com. I did a search on yahoo and there is my site- but with a different URL (http://www.zeletion.com). Zeletion.com does not belong to me, nor do I know the owner. Now I dont mind this too much, but when I submit MY domain name and do a search with the term "Fort Wayne Dining", the zeletion.com shows up at the top of the list, while mine is nowhere to be found- probably on page 9999999 or something. This is odd, because my site has the keywords in it's URL, and everything else is exactly the same. Also, for soem reason, my apache manuals got spidered too.... WTH twilight zone. Sucks, cause SEO will have a direct inpact on profits.

    If anyone knows wth is goin oin, please tell me cause I havent a clue.
    Last edited by coprock; May 20, 2005 at 22:12.
    http://www.fortwaynediningguide.com

  2. #2
    phpLD Fanatic bronze trophy dvduval's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    3,626
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is zeletion.com your site also?
    If yes, maybe you should do a redirect to your other site. This should help.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No its not my Domain name. The site that it points to is.
    http://www.fortwaynediningguide.com

  4. #4
    Application Developer shabbirbhimani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    2,272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I could not understand what you are asking. probably its only me but then if you can clarify it a bit more better.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    two domain names pointing to the same server (my server). One domain is mine (fortwaynediningguide.com), the other is the random guy that I dont knwo (zeletion.com). Both have been submitted to search engines. His first, then mine.

    Since alot of the search engines only allow one domain name per website, who do you think the search engines will keep? Obviously not the new one. I mean, I could register ebaysucks.com, submit the URL to google, and then watch as ebay fell down the ratings due to multiple URLs, and my skyrocketed. Then, when I show a huge increase in visits, I just redirect the page to my virus site. See? This guy submitted his Domain name and directed to my site before I did, so I dont know what Im gonna do or how to fix it.

    My site got crap ratings on all the search engines, and I think it may be because of this though I dont know. I read other posts about something like this and they say its hijacking.

    So, it seems all you have to do to kill someone is jsut find out a new site, and before that site submits their URL to google, register a domain, point it to their server, and viola you have ruined their 4 months of hard work and $ investments.
    Last edited by coprock; May 21, 2005 at 08:41.
    http://www.fortwaynediningguide.com

  6. #6
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,423
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Do a 301 redirect for the rogue domain. You'll get all of the PR is has (Google only) and send it to your domain and cause that domain to fall out of the search results (all search engines).

  7. #7
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't get this at all. Domains need to be setup on a server to work on that server. As such you're totally in control of whether or not that domain works or not.
    Chris Beasley - I publish content and ecommerce sites.
    Featured Article: Free Comprehensive SEO Guide
    My Guide to Building a Successful Website
    My Blog|My Webmaster Forums

  8. #8
    Gone!
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Witty Location Parody
    Posts
    3,889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Chris is right, the domain either needs to be set up as a listed domain on your hosting account to work like that and for your page to generate urls from relative links with the rogue name as the parent domain.

    Either you have overlooked something in your cpanel, or your host has made a mistake. Both domains have identical name servers listed, so it looks like your host might have setup the DNS entry incorrectly.

    What is not going to help your SEO however, is the presence of the following meta tag on your homepage:

    <META NAME="ROBOTS" CONTENT="NOINDEX, NOFOLLOW">

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did that noindex to get the other URL off my site.
    http://www.fortwaynediningguide.com

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah my hosting people messed up. They put an entry in my server for this guy's Domain name (www.zeletion.com). The problem now is, Is my domain name permanently penalized from the search engines for this? Will fortwaynediningguide.com be taboo? Should i get a new domain name? Sucks cause I spent 180 bucks on a stamper, cards, adn some flyers and stuff with FortWayneDiningGuide.com on them. I feel like I got the bad end of this mess-up. What would you do about this?

    Thanks for the help guys. It is good news that im not being attacked by cyber wizards .
    Last edited by coprock; May 21, 2005 at 17:53.
    http://www.fortwaynediningguide.com

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard Dylan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The SEs will sort it out given time to respider.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •