SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Red face A litle trick for serch engines.???

    Hi everyone. I hepened to eccounter with an older wesion of seo ebook and it suggested a little trick. The thing is to make a search on for example yahoo and tweak it antil your site comes up on the first place in the results. Now copy the URL and create a link on the bottom of your site with something like Check your domain name.com at Yahoo, pointing to the search results on yahoo.

    So allegedly if a spider comes to your site and found and follow the link it will see that your site has a backlink from a high pr site like yahoo.

    It sounds good but is this thing true?
    Thanks Laz
    www.1printer-supply.com

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    sea ranch
    Posts
    266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If this ever did work at one time and I doubt that it did, it certainly does not work now.

  3. #3
    Application Developer shabbirbhimani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    2,272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it will see that your site has a backlink from a high pr site like yahoo.
    But its actually you are linking to yahoo and not yahoo linking to you.

  4. #4
    I <3 Internet Tekime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shabbirbhimani
    But its actually you are linking to yahoo and not yahoo linking to you.
    I think what Laszlo means is that if you are listed on a major search engine, linking to the results page from your site will make other SE's spiders aware of a link to your site from a high PR page (your search result listing).

    I don't know the answer. I guess it would depend on whether the SE lets spiders crawl the results, and how the engine decides to handle them. I can't even tell if Google indexes Yahoo! results - "1-1 of 44,800" ??
    Scriptalicious SEO Scripts
    Save 20% with coupon code SPROCKS


  5. #5
    M.B.B.S.
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    799
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    See it: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...=Google+Search

    Google has indexed Hotbot search results!

    The 2nd link (search.hotbot.co.uk/results/wallpaper/) has a PR of 2.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Talking i dont now how spiders think

    Yes tekime that is exactly what I mean. That if my site listed on a major search engine, linking to the results page from my site will make other SE's spiders aware of a link to the site from a high PR page.

    and the mentioned book said that the search engine don't know the difference and won't recognise o I am spidering an other serch engine.they are just robots they dont think. But that is true.I dont know the set up of the algoritm, but it just worth a try. I just hope I won't be penelazed for this.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard Dylan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I doubt this works anymore, but ti's worth a try.

  8. #8
    Application Developer shabbirbhimani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    2,272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it depends on how the results are to the other bots. something like blocked to the bots by robots.txt

    See http://www.google.com/robots.txt

    Thanks
    Shabbir Bhimani

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict StephenBauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The robots.txt thing as well as I thought I read a post somewhere about SE bot findings being cleansed before use (to exclude various things that are not wanted).

    It probably worked in the early days.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    408
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't see how this is even a trick. So you find some of your best SE listings and link to them. Big deal?

    You do realize that individual SERP's have no PR?

    So, this method is really a waste of time.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This would be the exact same as creating a new page on your site and doing a link swap with it. Nothing different. You aren't getting a link from a high-PR page, you're only getting a link from the page that your site gave PR to. On top of that, Yahoo uses redirects:

    <li><div><a class=yschttl href="http://rds.yahoo.com/S=2766679/K=nathan/v=2/SID=e/TID=DFX5_30/l=WS1/R=13/IPC=us/SHE=0/H=1/SIG=11bealncg/EXP=1116945304/*-http%3A//nathanwwong.com/"><b>Nathan</b></a>
    And google uses robots.txt to block it.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •