User Tag List

Thread: Good PHP books?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Good PHP books?

Hello,

I want to buy a book that teaches PHP... I am pretty much a novice here.

Any good books that you recommend? If some mySQL stuff was thrown that would be even better

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    "PHP and MySQL Web Development" looks like the best so far... should I buy this one?

Basically I like books that teach and give examples in a methodical method. I can't see one idea and then skip step two and undertand tep three. One that goes three and breaks up examples totally would be best for me...

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think the best book is

Professional PHP Programming
    ISBN 1861002963

I had no PHP experience before i read this book.
    It has useful examples.

It starts off very easy and takes you to a very advanced level.

Just one word of warning ... you should have a little programming knowledge (even BASIC would do).

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm also trying to decide which PHP book is the best to buy for a newbie so any comments greatly appreciated
    <help>StIcKs</help>

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I second Paul M's recommendation of Professional PHP Programming. I read it in a few days and immediately programmed a DB app...it uses examples and common sense to teach you PHP, and that is something almost unheard of in the computer book industry.

Five stars from me.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have found some good information in Core PHP Programming by Leon Atkinson. I've had this book for about 2 months now. Prior to this book, I had little/no experience in PHP.

Just today I got these two:

PHP and MySQL Web Development - Welling & Thomson