SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Can I use a tape drive?

    Recently I acquired a tape drive from the place I work at. It is brand new from the box and has everything I need to get started, even some tapes. I know it wouldn't be of much use to me, but could I put it in a computer running Windows 2000 and expect it to work? Do today's Operating Systems support 10-year old technology? The drive is a Colorado Jumbo 250 tape drive. Looks like it is from 1992.

    If it won't work, that is fine - I'm going to be putting it in anyway (disconnected). Whenever a gullible person comes around I can always say it is a brand new piece of technology that allows me to play casette tapes from my PC, similar to a CD player

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist Timothy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Can I use a tape drive?

    Originally posted by Aidan Bahta

    If it won't work, that is fine - I'm going to be putting it in anyway (disconnected). Whenever a gullible person comes around I can always say it is a brand new piece of technology that allows me to play casette tapes from my PC, similar to a CD player
    And it always surprises me how many people actually would believe you if you did that Some people just have no clue...

  3. #3
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Use it with your Linux comp!! Put all of your data on the tapes.... making daily backups It will more than likely work with either Win or Linux.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot micmar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it would work under windows without to many problems, question is can you use a 250Mb tape drive for anything worth while?

    It would make a cool cassette tape player though
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

  5. #5
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Heh. When I was younger, my father had a 120Mb Colorado tape backup drive.

    I think you'll find that it works! Get a driver for it from the net maybe, and then you'll be able to use it in the backup software that comes with windows, or other software...

    Don't ask me how though... and don't ask me where to get media for it
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot micmar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mmj
    Heh. When I was younger, my father had a 120Mb Colorado tape backup drive.
    Our company has been moving offices over the last few days and while cleaning up I found a 120Mb Colorade tape drive! - Then I promptly threw it onto the ever growing pile of useless hardware
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

  7. #7
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Most tape drives will work in Win2k and Linux. Just try it and see what happens
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •