SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE won't display anything in an entire column

    I've been working on a new site for where i work and, it all works well in Firefox, but when i went to run a final check in IE the column on the right doesn't display anything, all the html is still there, but nothing shows. Yet Firefox shows everything as intended.
    Also on IE the footer is about 500px lower than it should be.
    it's annoying as i went for this template as it claimed to be all browser compatible.
    Any help appreciated.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast Gridlight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How are we supposed to help you if we can't see anything of what you're talking about? Please post some relevant code, or a link to the page in question.
    Cheers,
    Gridlight

    BrowserCam for 30?! I'm in, are you?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just realised i hadn't put a link in, came back to edit it, but had been beated to the post.

    The Link is:
    http://www.voxpops.co.uk/test

    Thanks for trying to help, might have more luck now.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It appears to me that ie is pushing your 3rd column down. It most likly is a width problem in one of your columns.
    Bill Rosa


  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If it was IE pushing the content down, then wouldn't you be able to see it under the rest of the content? On most pages the third column is simply images, but there are a couple with forms etc.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Could be behind the background. Try putting in a z-index in the 3rd column. ie may be adding a px or two to the layout. I"m only guessing, I haven't worked your layout. The reason why I say that ie is pushing the 3rd column down is when I view your page in firefox there isn't a vertical bar but in ie there is.
    Bill Rosa


  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot spinball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Harrison Twp., MI
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You may try giving your 3rd column a width. A z-index will only work in IE if the column has position:absolute.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Radar5756
    The reason why I say that ie is pushing the 3rd column down is when I view your page in firefox there isn't a vertical bar but in ie there is.
    Good point i had noticed that, but not really thought about it - didn't work though i'm afraid, still nothing - all background clours are transparent anyway, so shouldn't matter - but was worth a go

    Also tried the set width - tried 20px lower than it should be, but alas...
    The confusion continues.
    Anyone got any more suggestions?

  9. #9
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,556
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    It's just ie's 3 pixel jog and can simply be fixed with the following code:
    Code:
    /* mac hide \*/
    .columns-float{ margin-right:-3px;}
    .column-three {margin-left:547px;height:1%}
    /* end hide*/
    See the faq on floats if you want some more info on this bug

  10. #10
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,556
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by spinball
    A z-index will only work in IE if the column has position:absolute
    It also works on position:relative or position:fixed

    In fact is is only on static (non positioned) elements that z-index does not apply.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Paul O'B, the extra code worked perfectly.
    www.voxpops.co.uk/test can soon migrate to it's not test status, once all the showreels are encoded.
    Thanks Again


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •