SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Can't view php on Netscape (newbie)

    I've been learning from Mr. Yank's instructions on http://www.webmasterbase.com/article.php/228/19 and I got stuck on "Your first php script" a few pages later (http://www.webmasterbase.com/article.php/228/132). I typed this code:

    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>Today's Date</TITLE><
    /HEAD>
    <BODY>
    <P>Today's Date (according to this Web server) is<?php
    echo( date("l, F dS Y.") );
    ?>
    </BODY>
    </HTML>

    in notepad and saved it as today.php. Then I proceed to open it in netscape except nothing would open! Netscape gives me this box telling me that it is opening today.php with NETSCAPE.EXE then it asks me if I want to open this file or save it to disk at which point I would pick "open it" and then another box like this one would pop up, only that the file in question is no longer today.php, but a seemingly random php file with a name like V1I02OIT.php. And this goes on like some infinite recursion.

    Please help!

    Your humble newbie

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    86
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    did you upload it to a PHP enabled server? Cause php is a server side language, you need to upload it to a php enabled server.
    www.iyeinteractive.com - Website Design and Programming
    www.totalnonsense.net - my site, Under Construction

  3. #3
    I am the night... bman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In a van... down by the river.
    Posts
    366
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    to view the PHP file you have to have it on a server that supports PHP, you can't just open it on your local machine.
    Some say the world will end in fire, Some say in ice.
    From what I've tasted of desire
    I hold with those who favor fire.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you uploading it to a server which is able to parse PHP files? If not, are you running a server locally which is able to parse PHP? You can't just open it with your browser like you can HTML files.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    86
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if this is the case then you can use www.f2s.com it is a free host that supports php and mysql. Unfortuanitly, there are drawbacks, f2s is really slow/

    (lol, we all responded within 2 mins )
    www.iyeinteractive.com - Website Design and Programming
    www.totalnonsense.net - my site, Under Construction

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    newbie stuck again

    ok, after hearing all these tips, I proceeded to ftp today.php to aol, but it did the same thing so I guess it doens't support php?

    Would having Xitami help? I've configured php to be one of its filters by following the installation process and I don't really know what the next step is to see a working php script...

    Thanks again

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    86
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Havent used aol's ftp but they probably dont support php, almost sure they dont.
    And i have no clue what Xitami is someone help me out )
    www.iyeinteractive.com - Website Design and Programming
    www.totalnonsense.net - my site, Under Construction

  8. #8
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Xitami is a web server so yes it will work. You need to access your php page through a browser using http:// not using File > Open

    so if your script was located in your web root(whatever you set it to be in Xitami), then you should type something like http://localhost/page.php
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •