SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast justjeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Netscape - crashes me everytime!

    Every time I go on Netscape I'm okay while I'm on it, but as soon as I close the window - and I'm not kidding, it happens every single time I use it- my computer freezes up, I get an error and crash. It never fails. Does anyone else have this problem or know what the heck could cause such a thing? I now,of course, avoid it like the plague but sometimes would like to cruise around it, check how my site looks on it, etc...
    http://www.justjeni.com

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot micmar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Netscape is prone to doing things like that. What is the error message you get when it crashes?

    Do you have any other programs behave like this or is NS the only one? Also what OS are you running?
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast justjeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is? Well that is good to hear because I have to admit, I wondered if it was my computer or some such thing.

    The error is the dreaded "KERNELL32.DLL" error. And no, only Netscape does this. I rarely get errors of any kind otherwise.

    I am running Windows 98,(currently not running SE - seemed to cause more grief when I do) and IE 5.5.
    http://www.justjeni.com

  4. #4
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried reinstalling Netscape? Win98 is prone to these sorts of errors and I'm glad I will soon be using 2K exclusively.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast justjeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No...I"ve got one of those deals where all the software came with the computer and I have those restore disks. I always have to upgrade Netscape now, too but I did do that after my last restore. But, wait, could I remove it, go to Netscape and download it again that way? That should work, shouldn't it? Hmmm....Would be worth a try if I could do it that way...
    http://www.justjeni.com

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes you certainly can uninstall it and then download it. There is a good chance that'll fix your problem. Make sure you know what version of Netscape you are getting yourself into...NS 4.7.x and 6.x are two very different browsers, despite being back-to-back releases from Netscape.

  7. #7
    Happy Holidays !! Paul S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    1,287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe you have an old version of NN 4.x (I don't remember the exactly version) which Netscape reported a similar bug. Just download the 4.77 version, the bug was fixed.

    Paul

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast justjeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, my restore disks do have the old 4.0 version but then I log in and update it now when I have to restore. I'll try uninstalling and re-installing, I think. I do like to use it sometimes, although do really prefer windows...
    thanks so much!
    http://www.justjeni.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •