SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Where did everyone learn to make graphics?

Hello,
    I am a newb at web design and graphics, and I was wondering, where does everyone learn their skills.

Thanks,
    Chris

SitePoint Enthusiast heartsaffection's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just learnt in my own time. I use Paint Shop Pro 8.0. I know a couple of people that have been to college to do short computer art courses. You may like to give your local college a call and see what they have to offer. Most of them are part-time just a few hours a week over however many weeks.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    On the internet. I also bought some books on the topic

Cheers

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Sorry to sound all philosophical, but how did you learn to ride a bike?

Challenge yourself and PRACTICE!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is a difference between learning 'Graphic Design' itself, and learning how to use a specific program to make graphics.

I've been trying to learn the basics of design by reading books and online articles, but it's a big area to cover.

I learnt how to use programs such as Photoshop/Fireworks just by practicing, and giving myself goals. The main thing to do is keep on practicing, and don't give up when you become frustrated.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I learned a bit of theory in school, and built up my skills from there. Graphic design principles are crucial to know in my opinion. Pretty straight-forward stuff, yet I see so many 'so called' designers with no clue.

Either way, there are no tutorials that can teach you to be a great designer. It takes time, patience and often a lot of frustration as bcr mentioned above.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)