SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    logologologooooo kosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    europe
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sending files to client – formats

    Hi all,

    I’m having a logo design client, and have now been asked to send the final files in vector and psd. Now the problem is that i have done the logo in flash, and don’t really know how to make it a vector psd, or whatever other vector format.

    Any input/links are appreciated

  2. #2
    Non-Member Egor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I've had that request a fair few times. It's pretty much impossible to take a logo from another format, and automatically turn it into a .psd made of vector shapes. I'd just give him/her a 300dpi (and decent-sized) raster .psd of the logo, along with a vector version.

    A lot of times the clients just don't know how things work, and in many cases, a simple explanation from you won't hurt.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru kish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    923
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi mate.
    in flash you can export the logo.
    FILE> EXPORT IMAGE>
    Save as an .eps file.

    There's little point in turning it into a psd because you can open the eps in photoshop and in any case, bringing it in to photoshop will lose the vector info.... so stick with the eps
    Fast Fwd Multimedia
    Web, IT & Cloud Computing Consultancy
    Currently looking for web freelancers. Get in touch!

  4. #4
    logologologooooo kosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    europe
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks both of you

    kish, I exported it to .eps, but I got a VERY LOW quality image. I can't figure out why! Do you have any idea?

    Egor, by vector version, do you mean sending them the source .fla?

    Thanks again

  5. #5
    Non-Member Egor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kosta

    Egor, by vector version, do you mean sending them the source .fla?
    No not fla. I forgot what foramts flash can export as I haven't used it for yonks. ai? pdf? eps?

  6. #6
    logologologooooo kosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    europe
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    .ai (version 6) - colors aren't the same though, I tried
    .eps - as I said, I got a very low quality file. (eps 3.0)

    It can't export to pdf.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru ckita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Truly Asia
    Posts
    733
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    cartoonsmart.com
    might be of help....

  8. #8
    logologologooooo kosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    europe
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks ckita, but I'm on dial up... too heavy


    edit:

    I still haven't solved the problem, and I have a deadline to meet

    Any help is appreciated

    Thanks
    Last edited by kosta; May 8, 2005 at 23:28.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard LiquidReflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,861
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kosta
    kish, I exported it to .eps, but I got a VERY LOW quality image. I can't figure out why! Do you have any idea?
    When you exported it as an EPS, what did you use to view the image and notice that it's VERY LOW quality? Try opening the EPS in Photoshop. Before it opens, you will get a dialog box asking the size and resolution you want to open it as (because it's EPS and scalable). Select a high resolution (300dpi) and see what it looks like. Because it's vector, it may not look to have "smooth" edges everywhere as it's not anti-aliased, but that's not a quality issue ... more a format feature (vectors are lines instead of pixels).

    If this doesn't help, perhaps post a screenshot of the "low quality" image so we can have a better idea what is happening.
    Kevin Hauge : Modern Leaf Design : Follow Us on Facebook
    Client Axis v.08 - client / project management script

  10. #10
    logologologooooo kosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    europe
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Kevin, I just realised that the quality is excellent when opened in PS or Illustrator. It was only the image view (I use irfanview) that made it look low quality

    It seems that my problem is now solved. Big thanks everyone for your help

    Kosta

  11. #11
    SitePoint Guru ckita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Truly Asia
    Posts
    733
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    lol...congrats...

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard LiquidReflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,861
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Glad to hear!
    Kevin Hauge : Modern Leaf Design : Follow Us on Facebook
    Client Axis v.08 - client / project management script


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •