SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    581
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I.E. pushing menu block down

    I have been pouring over my code tirelessly these last several days trying to figure this out. In standards-compliant browsers, such as FireFox and Opera, my layout looks almost perfect. In IE, however, the menu block is pushed below the content block. Can y'all figure out what's going on?

    Many thanks!

    Joe
    I will not flame the newbies,
    I will not flame the newbies,
    I will flame the newbies...
    Table free is the way to be!

  2. #2
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,556
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I haven't looked at the code but have you fixed this as the menu block seems to be in the correct place in IE. Unless I'm looking at the wrong thing

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    581
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah I had someone else look at it in IE and they said that it looks all right. Must be my computer...
    I will not flame the newbies,
    I will not flame the newbies,
    I will flame the newbies...
    Table free is the way to be!

  4. #4
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    4,300
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello

    only in 800x640 resolution

    Sorry, yes i mean 800x600 res

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    581
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    800x600 you mean. That is what I am using.
    I will not flame the newbies,
    I will not flame the newbies,
    I will flame the newbies...
    Table free is the way to be!

  6. #6
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    4,300
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello

    i changed this, and then its OK for 800

    #main #contentArea
    {
    width: 76%;
    margin-left: 2%;
    }

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    581
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks! That's odd. I was trying to follow the box model rules to get 100% total for both columns. I guess IE's broken box model doesn't want to follow them. uke:
    I will not flame the newbies,
    I will not flame the newbies,
    I will flame the newbies...
    Table free is the way to be!

  8. #8
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,556
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    to get 100% total for both columns
    IE has a 1 pixel rounding bug where percentages are concerned. If you put 2 elements together such as 2 floats at 50% you will find that they will drop down on every odd pixel as the page is resized. This is because of a rounding error where the page ends up being 100% + 1 (or 2) pixels where percentages get rounded incorrectly. Usually making one element 49.9% will cure the problem. (I didn't look at your code so it may not have been your problem but is worth mentioning anyway )

  9. #9
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    4,300
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello

    did some experiments

    Paul is right i used 19.99% 79.99% and 75,99% 4% and it works

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot mcahill's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Manchaug, MA, USA
    Posts
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Just looked now...

    In firefox, fine. In IE, the submenus are being displayed as list items below the main menu items.
    mcahill
    Reel-Time.com - Saltwater Fly Fishing
    The Vario Blog
    VarioCreative.com 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

  11. #11
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    581
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mcahill
    In firefox, fine. In IE, the submenus are being displayed as list items below the main menu items.
    Yup that's the desired functionality but not the problem. The problem was IE pushing the whole menu block down below the content block which is now fixed.

    Thanks folks for all your help!
    I will not flame the newbies,
    I will not flame the newbies,
    I will flame the newbies...
    Table free is the way to be!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •