User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ASP Pages and Databases

Hello

I'm a beginner to asp and databases and wish to learn how to create one for a website, I have at present setup an access database (although there isn't anything in it yet), hosted it on my windows server, and it's now active, what I need to do now is to create a form that will call specific data from it and display that information in an asp page.

I know not everyone likes DreamweaverMX 2004 for creating asp pages but for now until I get a hang of it I wish to use it, I am creating my pages using the ASP VBScript template from Dreamweaver, I have created a database connection within it (I believe it works).

I need a quick lesson on how to create the form, retrieve the specific data and publish it on an asp webpage, I have purposely left the database empty for this lesson, another reason for leaving this database empty is because I have access to a ASP.Net Enterprice Manager through the ISP, there are many fields on this that I don't understand so if anyone knows how to fully use this it would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Chris124

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had the same problem and i learnt by using tutorials around the web and there are loads of great ones.

One of the best ones I found to start of with is this one...

http://www.webwizguide.info/asp/tuto...a_database.asp

and it goes on to help you create a simple guestbook. Its a great example as it has a form to submit to the database and then how to show the data back.

Also from there just us google. There are thousands of tutorials out there. Just type in something like ASP Access Tutorial or something.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Northernladuk

A very useful reply

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Chris124,