SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Is it possible to logon automaticaly on NT 4.0

    When Windows NT 4.0 starts, a window appears and asks me
    to press Ctrl+Alt-Del.

    Is it possible to logon automatically ?

    Or, at least not see this (annoying) window, just a window
    which asks me my username and password immediately?
    Regards,
    Alexander Saprykin
    http://www16.brinkster.com/saprykin

  2. #2
    Procrastinator Extraordinaire lucas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, U.S.A.
    Posts
    320
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you have administrator access to your computer then you can change it so that it displays the logon box only. you can also set it so that it doesn't require a password.

    you do this by changing settings in the security settings in the control panel. i'm not quite sure exactly where though

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Posts
    1,011
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Run regedt32
    Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\winnt\current version\winlogon.

    Choose Edit | Add Value from the menu bar.
    Enter the value name AutoAdminLogon
    Click OK
    Enter the string value 1
    Click OK
    Choose Edit | Add Value from the menu bar.
    Enter the value name DefaultPassword
    Click OK
    Enter the string value <user name to be used>
    Click OK

    Both the new values should now be listed on the right.

    Job done.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    10x

    Tank u, Shane!!!
    It works
    Regards,
    Alexander Saprykin
    http://www16.brinkster.com/saprykin

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast norfett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ERk! you dont need to go into reg edit!

    Just use the administritive tools, not sure where they are on NT4 - I think control Panel, or in the accessories folder on your start menu > Programs.

    Pete
    Current Projects:
    Brighton Rockz - The only Albion Fanzine

    Always Skint - THE forums for BHAFC fans

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    H'mm, it does work, but only for the first time I logon to windows.
    But after restarting my PC again, it asks me again to press Ctrl-Alt-Delete.
    If I go to regedt32 I see that AutoAdminLogon == 0 again

    here's my values in the registry:
    Where am I wrong?

    Key Name: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon
    Class Name: <NO CLASS>
    Last Write Time: 18.06.01 - 23:37
    Value 0
    Name: AutoAdminLogon
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: 1 //this value reverts to '0' again after rebooting

    Value 1
    Name: AutoRestartShell
    Type: REG_DWORD
    Data: 0x1

    Value 2
    Name: DebugServerCommand
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: no

    Value 3
    Name: DefaultDomainName
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: SERDI

    Value 4
    Name: DefaultPassword
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: Administrator

    Value 5
    Name: DefaultUserName
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: Administrator

    Value 6
    Name: LegalNoticeCaption
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data:

    Value 7
    Name: LegalNoticeText
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data:

    Value 8
    Name: PowerdownAfterShutdown
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: 0

    Value 9
    Name: ReportBootOk
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: 1

    Value 10
    Name: Shell
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: Explorer.exe

    Value 11
    Name: ShutdownWithoutLogon
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: 1

    Value 12
    Name: System
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: lsass.exe

    Value 13
    Name: Userinit
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: userinit,nddeagnt.exe

    Value 14
    Name: VmApplet
    Type: REG_SZ
    Data: rundll32 shell32,Control_RunDLL "sysdm.cpl"


    P.S. I've found a tool called "User Manager". It allows to change passords and pamissions for
    any user, but I couldn't find how to autologon using this tool.
    Regards,
    Alexander Saprykin
    http://www16.brinkster.com/saprykin

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Posts
    1,011
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Editing the Registry was the only way I ever found and as far as I know it's the only method listed at MS Knowledge Base. There might be third party tools out there that do the job in a nicer fashion though.

    http://support.microsoft.com/support...s/Q97/5/97.ASP

  8. #8
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    as a person who only uses NT at work, and only on a workstation and not as an administrator, can I actually make these changes. I've done registry hacks on the PC, but can I actually change administrator option in the registry without being an admin? LOL. Is there someway to set myself up as an administrator?
    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The fact that you're not an admin means you probably can't set such details - and assuming your machine has the latest service packs etc installed, then no there isn't a way to make yourself admin without asking the network manager nicely if you don't have the service packs installed though, then there probably is...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •