SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist Raining_Curses's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Caps in data from mysql table

    Hi all

    Im looking for some help with this little problem i get.

    When i log into my website, weather or not i registered with capitals it comes up with whatever username i use, now let me explain that a bit better.

    Say i was to log in with the username 'user'

    once i get into my site my username would be displayed as 'user'

    Now say i logged in with the username 'User' (Note the capital)

    My username would now be displayed as 'User' (note capital again)

    Lets say for this example the username stored in the database was 'User' if i entered 'user' as my name when i log in i would see my username as 'user' with no cap.

    Im just wondering if there is a way to make the data come exactly from the MySQL table, eg.. with caps or no caps whichever you register with.

    For a better example of this goto, www.thetrial.staronesw.com and click register then enter all you details (Have some capitals in your username)
    Then log on and when you enter your username to log on put no capitals in it and then once your logged on you will see your name up in the top left of the site and it wont have caps in UNLESS you put them in your username whne you logged in.

    Thanks for your help

    Ps if you go on my website please let me know what you think of the layout etc so far

    Thanks again all

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict fesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Jackson, New Jersey
    Posts
    218
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    most likely the variable you are using to display the username is not one that comes from your MySQL database.

    Paste your code so I can give it a hollerin'
    Fesh
    imagine what it's going to be like

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist Raining_Curses's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok which bit of code do you want, the bit from when you reigister and the data gets added to the db or the page where the username is displayed?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict fesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Jackson, New Jersey
    Posts
    218
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the bit from the page that gets the data
    Fesh
    imagine what it's going to be like

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist Raining_Curses's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The name is displayed with a session called $_SESSION['username'] which gets the username from what the user puts in as there username when they log in..................................



    And with that i have just answered my own question lol, the session doesnt get the data from the db it gets it form what the user enters when they log in. lol

    Thanks for help anyways

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict fesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Jackson, New Jersey
    Posts
    218
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that's what I was saying. glad I could, uh, sort of be of help
    Fesh
    imagine what it's going to be like


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •