SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: select syntax

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    select syntax

    Is there a command in mysql to select the maximum value in a particular collum
    Last edited by slighltywhacked; Jun 17, 2001 at 10:35.

  2. #2
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I think you have to do it like this :
    PHP Code:
    SELECT articles.*, lookup.*, writers.* FROM articleslookupwriters WHERE writers.wid=lookup.wid articles.aid=lookup.aid
    Sean

  3. #3
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    SELECT MAX(col_name) FROM tbl_name
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference

  4. #4
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok,

    Did you edit your question or did that post in the wrong topic for some reason ?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmmm weird indeed, Sean. It says the post was changed, so I guess that explains it.
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference

  6. #6
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I missed that! The first question was about selecting everything when using table joins.

    Sean

  7. #7
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In fact, SELECT * FROM table1, table2, ... should still work.
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •