SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

********* Callithumpian silver trophy freakysid's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Linux sysadmin for newbies

Well, I admit that I am a linux newbie. I'm sure there are many of us here at sitepoint - just beginning to find our way around the big file structure that exists outside of the warmth and safety of the htdocs directory

Perhaps this thread can turn into a bit of a tips and tricks and how to for the Linux newbie. If I may, I will kick it off with this question.

Why can't I run scripts from the command line by their name (as always seems to be done in examples I read on the web or in turorials or installation guides).

For example, a tutorial or book will tell me to open the mysql server like so

$ mysql -u freakysid -p

but I have to use ./ like so

$ ./mysql -u freakysid -p

Why is this so and what can be done about it?

Thanks.

Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you type in 'mysql', the shell in which you're typing it will look for an executable in one of the registered 'bin' folders with that name. With adding ./ in front of that name, you notify the shell that the executable you're referring to is placed in the current folder.

What you can do about it? Well, enjoy it, I'd say. It's so much better than DOS/Windows does it IMO.

I actually don't see any reasons to change this
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)