User Tag List

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Colleges not teaching web standards?

Note: Paul O'B, you already got a personal email--

A representative for one of the classes at Ivy Tech College in Indianapolis called the company I work for, and asked if there are any employees that would be interested in reviewing some students portfolio.

I thought it would be fun so I said 'yes'.

Only issue is that I didn't realize I actually had to give the students a mock interview for 20 minutes each. Yikes! So I gotta come up with some good questions that I can ask everyone. I am sure they are just as nervous as I will be.

I am sure I will see some good web design portfolio's and some bad ones. Thats the nature of the beast though and the nature of learning. I wish I would have had a mock interview possibility when I was in college. Then again, I was only about 1 1/2 years into webdesign by the time I graduated, and I graduated with a marketing degree, so that was the first area of work I was looking (Business). I have a passion for the web and web design and I am hoping I will see that same glimmer in some of the students eyes.

[UPDATE]

Well, I have finished the interviews. Why is it 98% of the portfolios from a college student are in Flash? I like a good use of flash, but g'damn, does everything have to be flash or print? I realize I was talking to most multimedia college students, but I don't think too many colleges put alot of main focus into solid website building/ css / web standards.