SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast MarkW78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Wellington, Ohio
    Posts
    53
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Two Questions/Problems

    Hello all. I have a client who is trying to do some "different" stuff and I'm not sure how to go about these things.

    1) He has a Access database that needs to be converted to MySQL. How does one go about that? The only references I found here involved ODBC, which is not an option for this client. Is there a way to do this by going around that?

    2) To make matters more complicated, this client wants to use FrontPage 2000 to connect to his MySQL database. PHP, of course, is available. But I couldn't find much info on this here in the archives and I wasn't sure what to search for at PHP.net. Has anyone ever attempted, or better yet - succeeded at doing this?

    As always, I'm grateful for any help anyone can give. Thanks!!!!!

    Mark

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member atem451's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Little help

    I'm not sure what you mean when you say that odbc is not a option for your client, since the odbc connection is etablished between MS Access and the MySQL-DB (so it's not your cllient who uses the odbc connection at this point. Maybe later while connecting to the MySQL, depending on the System your running the client on), but if you simply want to install your Access-tables on the mysql-host with all the content without ODBC, you could create the Tablestructure in the MySQL "by hand", export the Data from the AccessTable as .csv-Data, an read this .csv-File into your MySQL-DB with the "Load Data Infile" - Syntax.
    Footbag: Spread the Spirit

  3. #3
    Node mutilating coot timnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    516
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Alternatively, can't you use myodbc and myaccess? to convert from ms access to mysql?

    More information, see mysql.com

  4. #4
    ********* Callithumpian silver trophy freakysid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    3,798
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are changing over from access to mySQL you can do something along these lines; create tables in mySQL to relect the schema of the access database. Export the access database data into CSV files (one per table). Then load the data from them into the mySQL database using LOAD INFILE (I think) which you can read about in the manual at www.mysql.com

    Regarding frontpage support for php - I don't want to know about it (shudder)

  5. #5
    Node mutilating coot timnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    516
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And also regarding the frontpage support. Excuse me while I spew outside. Frontpage is for school when they force you to use it when doing the "Web2" unit of computing. Or rather, you just add the generator tags to your hand written site before the teacher sees your page.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast MarkW78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Wellington, Ohio
    Posts
    53
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks everyone.

    Personally, I think FrontPage ranks right up there with Spam in my book of annoyances. But several of my clients do use FP - in the hosting world it is a necessary evil to deal with all of the problems.

    As for the ODBC part, it isn't an option because we won't open the connection for him - unless it is the only way to do this.

    So I have a good idea now about converting the database, but does anyone else have any idea how to get Frontpage to work with MySQL?

    Thanks again,

    Mark

  7. #7
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How do you mean Frontpag working with MySQL. Frontpage doesn't have a database tool that I am aware of, and for hosting purposes the only reason someone would use frontpage is because they are lame and can't figure out how to use a real FTP client. I know how you feel, we have several clients who insist on using FP, so I had to pull my hair out for a week getting Fp Extensions up and running on one of our Linux boxes.

    So back to the orig question at hand. What does the client think he is gonna do to a MySQL database through frontpage, like I said before as far as I know, accessing remote databases is not a function FP does.

    As for the Access -> MySQL I highly suggest, as others have, that you look at MyAccess, it will build the tables in MySQL for you and transfer the data.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •