SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: PHP on win32

  1. #1
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PHP on win32

    Hi,

    I was developing a PHP script for a client some weeks ago.
    Apparrently, they couldn't grab a linux server at the moment.

    However, on testing the script on their windows server, it produced several problems..like..variables not having values etc.

    Has any enountered such problems before?
    Can php scripts developed for the unix/linux server work as designated on win32 servers too?

    Thank You
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I constantly switch between PHP on windows and linux. I've had no problems at all!

    Basically, all I do is edit a few configuration lines (path to templates..) and everything works fine.

    No problems at all with variables not having values... I run php as a module, don't know if running it in CGI mode would cause any such problems.

    Perhaps the problems you are describing are caused by browser specific issues? (wild guess)...

    Arpith

  3. #3
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm..weird.
    what are the differences in win32 paths and linux paths?
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, no real difference with the paths as far as PHP is concerned... just that I install the scripts in different directories in linux/windoz.

    Perhaps you could be a little more specific as to the cause of your problems...

    Arpith

  5. #5
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i'm not too sure.
    preview..my unix path was like..
    /home/lynlimz/public_html

    now..the win32 path is...
    /public_html ?
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yea... something like that.. here's mine

    unix path: /usr/local/apache/htdocs

    windows path: c:/progra~1/apache~1/apache/htdocs
    Last edited by arpith; Jun 15, 2001 at 00:46.

  7. #7
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm...alrihgt.. thankss
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •