User Tag List

Thread: Risk management

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Risk management

This post isn't really PHP based, but came up in a thought I had from http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthread.php?t=257386 and remembering traceability. I'm using this forum because most of the projects I'm involved with are PHP based, and there's lots of discussion here about other processes like XP and other flavours of TDD.

I've recently been thinking about risk management when it comes to projects I'm involved in. I did an engineering degree, and during it they constantly talk about how important risk management is, and how the SDLC can benefit by being risk driven, without really explaining the whole risk mitigation part of things other than general concepts. While it's plainly obvious where using something like a test driven approach can be beneficial, I'm wondering what's out there for helping with risk driven projects, and being able to incorporate risk analysis in a project's traceability.

(This is mostly an aside that I use when trying to give a simple answer on how tdd affects the code that you write, and how code can be refactored to benefit from it).
    TDD can be thought as both Test Driven Design, whereby the design of your application is driven by how you're going to test it, or Test Driven Development, whereby the whole development phase of your lifecycle is geared around your testing (one I guess is a subset of the other). TDD can directly influence your final application code, as sometimes you'll explicitly write/refactor your code in a way that makes it easier to be tested (see http://www.lastcraft.com/partial_moc...umentation.php for what I mean).