SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast oneafrikan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    London, Uk
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    dynamic dropdown selection without refreshing page

    I need to populate dropdowns with data from a database. The first selection determines the next dropdowns population. the selections must be done without refresing the page.

    can anyone help me with this, point me to source code, or tell me it's not possible ;-)

    Thanks millions

    timberwolf
    -> www.oneafrikan.com ><-><><-><-><-><-><
    -> www.openboxsoftware.com ><><-><-><-><

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's possible using MS Remote Scripting technology but it doesn't look like a really nice solution for public site. But if you need that for administrative interface or intranet it could be just what you need. Check it out here http://msdn.microsoft.com/scripting/...ng/default.htm or in this article http://www.webtechniques.com/archives/2001/07/junk/
    SPAW Editor v.2 - web based wysiwyg editor for PHP and ASP.NET.
    Opera and Safari support, tabbed interface, floating toolbar...

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Posts
    1,011
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    timberwolf,

    try the following article at www.asp101.com, as it shows what I think you're trying to do.

    http://www.asp101.com/resources/DependentLists.asp

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It could be done with JavaScript, hidden frame, and 2 min of time.
    People, M$ sucks!!!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hidden frame is the same not so nice solution as that remote scripting. You can't completely hide a frame in NS4 (as far as I remember) and you'll have to pay attention to it in all your links from this page and to this page. But it is also an acceptable solution for admin and intranet pages. For public pages I'd better choose some traditional approach like spliting this page into several pages or rethinking the whole idea of such a page.
    SPAW Editor v.2 - web based wysiwyg editor for PHP and ASP.NET.
    Opera and Safari support, tabbed interface, floating toolbar...

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hidden frame is the same not so nice solution as that remote scripting. You can't completely hide a frame in NS4 (as far as I remember) and you'll have to pay attention to it in all your links from this page and to this page. But it is also an acceptable solution for admin and intranet pages. For public pages I'd better choose some traditional approach like spliting this page into several pages or rethinking the whole idea of such a page.
    SPAW Editor v.2 - web based wysiwyg editor for PHP and ASP.NET.
    Opera and Safari support, tabbed interface, floating toolbar...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •