SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,121
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    FoxPro connection over a network with ASP

    Has anyone done this (FoxPro connection over a network with ASP) ?

    I'm having an awful time of it...

    Took me forever to even get asp to connect to foxpro, but now it won't work over a network...

    We've done a mapped drive and it's still not working (the only solution I could think of), and the MIS dudes aren't too keen on opening up the database server to all internet users.
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As far as I undersand your problem is that you can't connect to foxpro database because of lack of permissions, right? Remember that it's your webserver who connects to it not you so it connects to the network drive with webservers credentials (user which was used to start iis) so you should run your web server with user that has permissions to access that network location.

    Hope this helps (if I got the problem right )
    SPAW Editor v.2 - web based wysiwyg editor for PHP and ASP.NET.
    Opera and Safari support, tabbed interface, floating toolbar...

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,121
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's what everyone keeps telling me, but it's only network admins who log into the webserver and they have permissions for everything...

    I know that seems like the most logical answer, but I don't think that's it, though honestly thanx for your help
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's not the one who logins to web server's console who matters it's the one whos account is used for WWW Publishing Service (Control Panel/Services/WWW Publishing Service/Properties/Logon)
    SPAW Editor v.2 - web based wysiwyg editor for PHP and ASP.NET.
    Opera and Safari support, tabbed interface, floating toolbar...

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,121
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which would also be the admin...
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard big_al's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,661
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi,

    There is an actual InetUser account that should be set up, put your database in it's own directory, give that directory read and write permission, but not browse or execute.

    That should fix your problem and and security issues
    .NET Code Monkey


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •