SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: trans.gif????

  1. #1
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    trans.gif????

    I was at www.coolhomepages.com and wanted to check out the code, so I copied the HTML source into DW4. I noticed that there was an image titled "trans.gif" in many places, almost like a spacer gif. But it had to reason. For example, there was one between the "NEW SITES THIS WEEK" and "SUBMIT A SITE" image links and one between the "SUBMIT A SITE" and "SUBCSRIBE" image links. What is it? And is it really needed??

    Also, in the header, the image on the right is aligned to the right but if I look at the cell properties it says "default" for alignment. How is that? Plus, if I click the table they are in, the properties box shows that it is on "autostretch". The table below that one has "90%" for one of it's columns. How do you do that and what does it mean? Someone earlier told me that the header table is set for "100%", but i don't know what it means, and I don't see "100%" anywhere.

    Please help, thanks! (sorry this may be confusing. I am just very curious and have a lot of questions.)
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  2. #2
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    okay. take things slowly.

    the trans.gif as from what you described, would be a spacer.

    and with regards to the table width="100%", here's hte code

    <table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You see, in html, you cannot specify a customized space between two images unless you use tables. That's when people use a spacer imager (transparent), just 1pixel wide and 1 pixel high, and stretch it according to the amount of space they want.

    Also, in netscape, sometimes even when u specify widths in table cells, it does not work, you have to put a spacer image for it to display correctly.

    All these may sound confusing, but well, you can experiment on your own.

    Hope this helps.
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  4. #4
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by xharine
    Also, in netscape, sometimes even when u specify widths in table cells, it does not work, you have to put a spacer image for it to display correctly.
    thats not entirely true. if you specify the widths properly, it'll be alright.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot honging's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not when you work with both percentage and set pixel widths to attain full-screen designs. Then, just setting width settings doesn't work for NN. You have to use a forced image to space it.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yup, even table heights in netscape don't work correctly all the time.
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  7. #7
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by xharine
    Yup, even table heights in netscape don't work correctly all the time.
    no! it does!
    set it via html though. not css.

    if its lower then..say 20px..like 10px...you have to include an image thats 10px or have a space '&ampnbsp;' and make the font size small.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But then that's not doing it with HTML Lyon. That's "cheating".
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  9. #9
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    naw. its html + some manipulation of whatever you have =) lol
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi lynlimz,
    Try creating a table using HTML specifying widths, different widths, in pixels. It doesn't show up correctly in netscape.

    Why do you think spacer.gifs were invented?

    Example:
    If you make a table cell 1 pixel high, and put nothing inside, and specify the background colour to be grey, and set the table width 750px, you will expect to see a 750px wide 1px-line across the browser right?

    In IE, yes.

    In Netscape, nope. Unless you add a 1px high spacer.gif.
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  11. #11
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by xharine
    Hi lynlimz,
    Try creating a table using HTML specifying widths, different widths, in pixels. It doesn't show up correctly in netscape.

    Why do you think spacer.gifs were invented?

    Example:
    If you make a table cell 1 pixel high, and put nothing inside, and specify the background colour to be grey, and set the table width 750px, you will expect to see a 750px wide 1px-line across the browser right?

    In IE, yes.

    In Netscape, nope. Unless you add a 1px high spacer.gif.
    show me your code!
    no need for spacer.
    just add &ampnbsp; netscape doesn't display cells with nothing in it.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Lyon,
    if you put nbsp; , the cell height wouldn't be 1px anymore. The only way for the cell height to be exactly 1px is to put a spacer, not a &nbsp;.

    If you can do a table with a cell height that's exactly 1 px with nbsp;, and shows correctly in netscape, please do tell me. I would die to know how to do that.
    Last edited by xharine; Jun 12, 2001 at 10:30.
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  13. #13
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    xharine,

    pardon me. before you try a spacer, always attempt a &nbsp;. try setting font size for that td.

    nly if it doens't work do you use a spacer.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  14. #14
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Lyon,
    Really I would like to see a table that has a 1 px high cell in netscape with the non breaking space. Please show it to me.
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  15. #15
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't think you can get a font down to 1 px.
    Use a 1 X 1 pixel spacer i guess.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  16. #16
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Lyon,
    No hard feelings....no bitter comments here.
    Truce yeah?
    I just wanted to make my point there. That sometimes when your layout needs specific table widths and heights by pixels, you have to use spacers, if you use non breaking space, it will not show the exact pixel height or width that you specify.

    This realisation has come after a few years of experimentation, especially when I need to design sites that really need specific pixel widths or heights for table cells.
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  17. #17
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by lynlimz

    if its lower then..say 20px..like 10px...you have to include an image thats 10px or have a space '&ampnbsp;' and make the font size small.
    yep. i understand. i just realised i didn't read your earlier post which says 1 px.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •