SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28

Thread: System Specs

  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    1,284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    System Specs

    I was just wondering, what kind of specs do you have for your system? Mine aren't very good and need an upgrade.

    -Win 98
    -500 Mhz
    -128 RAM
    -20 Gig HD
    -3dfx Voodoo3 Card
    -19 in Monitor
    -Zip 100 Drive
    -HP 12x CD Writer

  2. #2
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ha, mine are worse. (But not for long... wait until I get my new Dell ):

    Gateway G6-400 --> soon to be Dell Dimensions 8100
    400 Mhz PII --> soon to be 1.3 Ghz PIV
    192 MB PC100 (originally 64, upgraded in December) --> soon to be 256 MB PC133
    9.54 gig-HD --> soon to be 60-gig HD
    17" EV700 monitor --> soon to be 15" Digital Flat Screen monitor

    Last edited by mjames; Jun 8, 2001 at 17:39.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Win2k/Win98/WinMe/WinXP Beta 2/Mandrake 8.0/BeOS 5
    800 MHz PIII
    256 MB RDRAM
    45 GB HD
    19" Sony Monitor
    GeForce 2 64 MB GTS
    DVD Drive (12 I believe)
    Burner (8/4/32 I think)
    Nice speaker set w/subwoofer
    Natural Keyboard
    Optical Mouse

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Woo hoo...another bragging thread

    With that said, here are my stats...
    p3 500
    512mb pc133 ram
    dell/sony trinitron (17")
    viewsonic a90 (19")
    ati radeon 32mb ddr
    voodoo3 2000 pci
    razer boomslang
    ms intellimouse explorer
    dell quietkey keyboard
    2x25gb ata66 HDs
    8x burner
    nic
    aureal a3d sound card
    sony noise-canceling headphones

    In my closet I have an IBM RS6000, but I'm having a bit of trouble turning that on.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast Brucie G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK here are the stats:

    AMD Athlon 800mhz
    256 PC133 RAM
    40GB ata100 harddisk
    CTX Flatscreen 19" monitor
    Hercules MX 2 Graphics Card
    Creative Platinum Soundcard
    Logitech cordless keyboard and mouse
    12X DVD player
    8*12*? Burnproof CD Burner
    Creative DTT2500 surround speakers - soon to be upgraded to Videologic Digitheatre DTS

    And thats about it. I intend to upgrade the processor soon too, probably to a 1.1ghz.
    Bruce

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot nflicanada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sk, Canada
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Win Me/Win XP beta 2
    AMD Athlon 1.3 GHZ
    256MD PC2100 DDR Ram
    40 GB HD
    SB Live Platinum 5.1
    15" NEC LCD monitor
    Asus v7700 Deluxe
    Dazzle DVC50
    Toshiba 10x DVD Rom
    Plexwriter 8/4/32

  7. #7
    I am the night... bman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In a van... down by the river.
    Posts
    366
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    most of you are doing much better than me. and i am not planning an upgrade anytime in the future..

    -Win 98
    -433 Mhz
    -96 RAM
    -6 Gig HD
    -19 in Monitor
    -Zip 100 Drive (USB)
    -DVD Player
    -CDRW (USB)
    -whatever video card came with the system (it can't be too bad though cause it runs the DVD's)
    -Logitech Track ball (USB) (i also keep my old mouse plugged into the PS2 port just for the heck of it.
    -Scanner (USB)

    only upgrade i am thinking about is to a different Video Card, because i want one that does video capture..
    and i will probably be getting a cable modem soon too.. YAY.
    Some say the world will end in fire, Some say in ice.
    From what I've tasted of desire
    I hold with those who favor fire.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot micmar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mjames
    Ha, mine are worse. (But not for long... wait until I get my new Dell ):
    Dell? argh no, I hate Dell with a passion. Michael Dell is an AMD hater and will not use there CPU's in his systems. Becuase of that he has lost all respect from the vast amount of AMD supporters out there, including me. Anyway enough ranting, back to the point of the thread, here are my system specs.

    AMD Athlon T-bird 800@950Mhz
    ASUS A7V mobo
    256Mb PC133 Infineon RAM
    Creative SoundBlaster Live Value
    30Gb Quantum HDD
    Aopen HQ08 full tower case
    WinMe/Win2kPro/Linux-Mandrake 8.0
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

  9. #9
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My computer:

    CPU: AMD Athlon Thunderbird 900
    M/B: ASUS A7v 1.04
    RAM: 128 Mb PC100
    VIDEO: Matrox G400 32Mb Dualhead
    MONITOR: NEC Multisync V500
    SOUND: Creative SB Live 'Player'
    HDD: Quantum Fireball CX 13Gb
    DVD: Pioneer 6x DVD-113 DVD-ROM
    CDRW: HP 9100 32x/8x/4x CD burner
    ... and more

    My sound system:

    RECEIVER/AMP: Denon AVR-1601 Digital Surround receiver
    MAINS: Mission 701 Stand-mount main speakers
    CABLE: "Prism Clara" speaker cable by Tara Labs.
    INTERCONNECTS: digital coaxial/homemade
    ... and more
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  10. #10
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mjames
    Ha, mine are worse.

    ...
    400 Ghz PII
    Sounds like quite a fast pentium!

    only joking
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard dominique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    orbis terrarum
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    -Win98SE, soon also RH Linux 7.1
    -750 Mhz PIII
    -128 MB RAM
    -IBM 27 GB HD, Maxtor 20 GB HD
    -19" monitor
    -nVIDIA GeForce 256 AGP Plus
    -Creative SB Live!
    -2 network cards (Linksys and Intel-based)
    -Samsung 8x DVD
    -Sony 32x/8x/4x CD-RW
    -DVD decoder card with TV-out
    -Altec Lansing ADA 885 sound system
    -Scanner
    -Logitech MouseMan Weel
    -Dell Quiet Keyboard
    -and a cruddly olde HP DeskJet 540 from my previous PC!

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot micmar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mmj

    My sound system:

    RECEIVER/AMP: Denon AVR-1601 Digital Surround receiver
    MAINS: Mission 701 Stand-mount main speakers
    CABLE: "Prism Clara" speaker cable by Tara Labs.
    INTERCONNECTS: digital coaxial/homemade
    ... and more
    Nice stuff mmj, I am putting together a decent sound system at the moment, here are the specs..

    A/V RECEIVER/AMP: Denon 3801
    MAINS: Mordaunt Short 908 floor standing speakers
    REARS: Mordaunt Short 902 stand mount speakers
    CENTRE: Mordaunt Short 905C
    CABLE: Kimber Cable


    Still to come:
    DVD: Toshiba SD4700 - New model due in July. Comes with progressive scan output, DVD-A, reads CD-R/W, Multizone and it should cost under $1000 Aussie dollars!!!

    Mic
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Brucie G
    OK here are the stats:

    AMD Athlon 800mhz
    256 PC133 RAM
    40GB ata100 harddisk
    CTX Flatscreen 19" monitor
    Hercules MX 2 Graphics Card
    Creative Platinum Soundcard
    Logitech cordless keyboard and mouse
    12X DVD player
    8*12*? Burnproof CD Burner
    Creative DTT2500 surround speakers - soon to be upgraded to Videologic Digitheatre DTS

    And thats about it. I intend to upgrade the processor soon too, probably to a 1.1ghz.

    Man...spooky. I have nearly the identical computer as you Brucie, down to the Video card. 'Cept I don't have a DVD burner.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  14. #14
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by micmar
    Dell? argh no, I hate Dell with a passion. Michael Dell is an AMD hater and will not use there CPU's in his systems. Becuase of that he has lost all respect from the vast amount of AMD supporters out there, including me.
    Point taken, but you can't deny Dell is a bad computer maker because they choose not to use AMD. But, given the choice in a Dell system, I'd likely go with an Athlon.

    Originally posted by mmj


    Sounds like quite a fast pentium!

    only joking
    How odd it is you are the one who always points out my typos. Of course I meant Mhz, but it's scary that Ghz of that magnitude won't be unrealistic in a while.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Zealot micmar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mjames

    Point taken, but you can't deny Dell is a bad computer maker because they choose not to use AMD. But, given the choice in a Dell system, I'd likely go with an Athlon.
    I see what you are saying and I suppose my post was a little vague. I dont doubt that there systems are good, it just annoys me that a company of that size cant see the potential in selling AMD based systems. The fact of the matter is most likely that they get unbeatable pricing from Intel for staying as an exclusive Intel dealer. Oh well, there loss.


    Of course I meant Mhz, but it's scary that Ghz of that magnitude won't be unrealistic in a while.
    400Ghz is a fair way off yet and is impossible with the current technology being used to produced CPU's, however 5-10ghz+ CPU's will be here in the next 5 years.
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Aidan Bahta
    Win2k/Win98/WinMe/WinXP Beta 2/Mandrake 8.0/BeOS 5
    800 MHz PIII
    256 MB RDRAM
    45 GB HD
    19" Sony Monitor
    GeForce 2 64 MB GTS
    DVD Drive (12 I believe)
    Burner (8/4/32 I think)
    Nice speaker set w/subwoofer
    Natural Keyboard
    Optical Mouse
    Aidan:

    You don't have Beta 2; it's not out yet. Beta 1 isn't even out yet.
    Fiber
    fiber@liquid2k.com
    73218345
    "Prepare yourself, it's da human beatbox"

  17. #17
    SitePoint Zealot nflicanada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sk, Canada
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Fiber are you thinking of RC2? Beta 2 of XP has been out for a bit now and RC1 is scheduled later this month.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Fiber


    Aidan:

    You don't have Beta 2; it's not out yet. Beta 1 isn't even out yet.
    I am looking at the CD for it now. Several other SPF members here have it too. I paid MS about $10 for it.

  19. #19
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by micmar


    Still to come:
    DVD: Toshiba SD4700 - New model due in July. Comes with progressive scan output,
    Do you have a television or projector able to use this progressive scan output?

    By the way, I cannot wait for the time when we can throw away our standard definition televisions, but I cannot see it happening too soon.
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  20. #20
    SitePoint Zealot micmar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mmj

    Do you have a television or projector able to use this progressive scan output?
    I dont as yet. That is the purchase im researching at the moment.
    I am having a problem with this though. I have heard conflicting stories about progressive scan and what you need to display it. First I heard that you need a progressive scan TV to get true progressive output. Then I heard that all you need is a NTSC playback capable TV. The thing is I dont know who is right. If the first theory is correct then I have a lot more saving to do becuase those TV's start at about $3500, where as the standard non progressive TV's start at about $1400. (im talking for a 68cm tube)

    Whatever the correct senario is, I will still buy the Toshiba 4700 as it will be a lot cheaper than the current DVD & DVD-A players available now. Progressive scan is just the icing on the cake
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

  21. #21
    Victory shall be mine tubedogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Medina, OH
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Win2K/WinXP beta 2
    PIII 1GHz
    512MB RD-RAM
    21" Trinitron monitor
    15" POS monitor
    Dell Custom GEForce256 with 64MB RAM
    ATI All-In-Wonder Pro with 32MB RAM
    54x/12x Read/Write CD-RW
    12x DVD-ROM with hardware decoding
    Pinnacle Systems DC30pro video capture & output card
    CambridgeSoundworks DTT2500 Digital Desktop Theater 5.1 (6 speaker surround sound system)
    Creative SBLive! Value
    75GB HDD
    Kevin

  22. #22
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by micmar


    First I heard that you need a progressive scan TV to get true progressive output. Then I heard that all you need is a NTSC playback capable TV. The thing is I dont know who is right. If the first theory is correct then I have a lot more saving to do becuase those TV's start at about $3500, where as the standard non progressive TV's start at about $1400. (im talking for a 68cm tube)
    As far as I know, I think you (and I!) both have a lot more saving, or waiting, to do.

    To get the benefit of progressive scan, you will need a special television. A standard NTSC television is not capable, and is probably the worst platform available for viewing 24fps widescreen movies!

    I am frustrated that with all the new High Definition media being created, there is nothing yet available for the average person to feel the benefit of any of these high resolution or progressive scan modes.

    By the way, I have seen some Sony consumer standard definition televisions that double the resolution, and I think they are called "Digital Reality Creation". They de-interlace the signal and scan it at the equivalent of 50fps progressive. However, I am not sure whether it accepts the input from a progressive scan signal. You'd have to research that.

    http://www.sony.com.au/product_detai...dCod=KVES29M31

    Here is some info. In this model, DRC-1250 mode would be the progressive-style mode, showing a full 625 lines, 50 times per second. DRC-100 is a regular 100 Hertz flicker-free style, without any increase in resolution.

    But, if you have a spare $10 to $80 grand or so, you would be able to get an LCD projector capable of doing all of this and more.
    Last edited by mmj; Jun 11, 2001 at 02:35.
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  23. #23
    SitePoint Zealot micmar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mmj - I think we have accidentally hijacked this thread.

    I have started a home theatre thread here > http://www.sitepointforums.com/showt...threadid=25464

    Mic
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

  24. #24
    Yugo full of anvils bronze trophy hillsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    :noitacoL
    Posts
    1,859
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For anyone who's interested:

    Win2K
    PIII 667
    256MB RAM
    Matrox G400 Millenium 32MB
    SoundBlaster Live Value
    12x DVD-ROM
    Iomega CD-RW (forgot the speed)
    1x 19" LG monitor, 1x 15" OEM
    2x Seagate 13GB in a RAID 1 array

    Some peripherals:
    Canoscan 650U
    Casio QV3000 digicam
    APC UPS
    USB Zip drive

    Things to do:
    More hard drives! I want to do RAID 0+1
    Processor/MB upgrade (later this year maybe)
    that's me!
    Now A Pom. And a Plone Nut
    Broccoli Martinez Airpark

  25. #25
    pg for mild peril cow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    nevada, usa
    Posts
    636
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wow! everyone seems to be doing better than me:

    win98
    celeron 366mhz
    146 mb ram
    4 gb hdd
    16 gb hdd (ext.)
    zip drive
    4 mb on-board graphics
    15" oem monitor
    some cheap altec speakers (that have an annoying buzz)

    and this is what i have at work! my home laptop is even older (and worse off).

    i guess i'm not much for upgrading, i don't mind having things run sloooowwww (because i don't really know any better)...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •