SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict WebMasterAJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Help! Can someone do a favor?

    I have received some responses saying that my main page doesn't work with Netscape 4.77 on a PC. I only have Netscape 6.0, thus I don't know if it is just that persons computer, or my site. Could someone please check out my site: http://www.finheaven.com/

    And click on any of the "Read More..." links. People say that once they click on one of those, they get a "Cannot Connect" or something like that.

    Hopefully someone can test this out... it won't take long...

    THANKS!
    Andrew Tatum
    FinHeaven & Co - Get Drenched With Finformation
    The FinHeaven & Co Forums

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you add a browser detecting script or something? Or a redirection script?
    I tested with netscape 4.7 and it keeps reloading the page over and over again, thus you can't see anything at all.
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  3. #3
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    AJ, I just visited in 4.7 and it loaded fine.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict WebMasterAJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, there isn't and browser detecting script. However, I did have a script that would make sure that the page wouldn't be "captured" in frames from other sites.

    Code:
    <script>
    <!--
    if (window!= top)
    top.location.href=location.href
    // -->
    </script>

    Took it out, see if it works.


    Marc, once loaded, did the "Read More..." links work?


    Thanks for your help!
    Andrew Tatum
    FinHeaven & Co - Get Drenched With Finformation
    The FinHeaven & Co Forums

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The script, this time I checked, was still there....
    http://www.finheaven.com/cgi-bin/main.css <---the browser keeps reloading this file.
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict WebMasterAJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It keeps on reloading that file when you first go to the site, or when you click on the "Read More..." link?


    Again, thanks for your help!!!
    Andrew Tatum
    FinHeaven & Co - Get Drenched With Finformation
    The FinHeaven & Co Forums

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The main page loads fine, it is after I click on the read more link that the problem occurs...
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict WebMasterAJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    xharine -

    Thanks for your time! I got the problem fixed.
    Andrew Tatum
    FinHeaven & Co - Get Drenched With Finformation
    The FinHeaven & Co Forums

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    May I know what was the problem about? =P
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict WebMasterAJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure, for some reason, when Netscape can't find a css file, it kept on reloading it self.

    The read more link goes to a file in the CGI directory. And the cgi loads in a template, the template had the right css file. HOWEVER, I found that when I made another SSI within the template, I also put main.css. Obviously, there won't be a css file in the CGI bin. So, I just pointed it to the right place.

    I know it sounds confusing, but basically... a simple error on my part. And Netscape reloading it self all the time because the css file wasn't in the CGI directory.


    Thanks again.
    Andrew Tatum
    FinHeaven & Co - Get Drenched With Finformation
    The FinHeaven & Co Forums

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ohh! I see the light now. =P

    Glad to be of any help anyway.
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •