SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Non-Member bronze trophy geniusgoalie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Buffalo, USA
    Posts
    979
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    path to a subdomain?

    I can't seem to figure this out. If I have two sites, a.com and b.com, and b.com is a subdomain of a.com, what would be the root path to it? In this situation, the root to a.com would be home/a, would it be home/a.b?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You own a.com?!?!

    Anyway.

    How is "b.com" a subdomain? Or do you mean b.com redirects to b.a.com?

  3. #3
    Non-Member bronze trophy geniusgoalie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Buffalo, USA
    Posts
    979
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by someonewhois
    You own a.com?!?!

    Anyway.

    How is "b.com" a subdomain? Or do you mean b.com redirects to b.a.com?
    Sorry, b.com redirects to b.a.com

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And what kind of server?

    For me, if I add a subdomain b.a.com it would show up in /home/a/b/ (that's how Cpanel does it).

  5. #5
    Non-Member bronze trophy geniusgoalie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Buffalo, USA
    Posts
    979
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by someonewhois
    And what kind of server?

    For me, if I add a subdomain b.a.com it would show up in /home/a/b/ (that's how Cpanel does it).
    I have cpanel on apache, so that might be it.
    Thanks!

  6. #6
    ********* Genius Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,458
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, cpanel just uses directories on the main site for subdirs.
    Mike
    It's not who I am underneath, but what I do that defines me.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •