SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member hpmarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Installing mysql on win2000

    First of all, Hello everyone.

    I am excited about the php language and would like to move forward in my studies but I have run into a problem.

    I am using a win2000 machine in my home and would like to install MySQL on it. I have winme on the C:\ drive and would like to install on my win2000 drive f:\.

    Do I have to do any modifications, ie. make it a server. Does MySQL run only in DOS or does it run under win2000.

    ANY!! installation instructions would be greatly appreciated, since I have never done this before.

    Marc

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PHPTriad

    Hi
    Try using a programme called PhpTriad It installs and configures apache webserver, php and MySQL on a windows machine, it can be downloaded from http://www.phpgeek.com

    Hope I helped

    Dean

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member hpmarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    got it installed with phpdev3 but mysql will not start. The apache server starts but not the mysql.
    I'd rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member hpmarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I noticed that in the add/remove programs area it is not listed
    hmmm.....this is gonna be a learning experience. I can feel it.

    Marc
    I'd rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I recently installed MySQL on my W2K machine. I download and unziped the file. And then just ran the setup.exe file.

    When I need to run it, I just double-click on the mysqlWinAdmin icon and it starts up.
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member hpmarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well Thanks everyone!!!

    I finally got it running except I had to do some tweaking. I installed two versions, one to the C: drive and one to the g: drive. The MySQL runs fine on the G: drive but the Apache wouldn't start. The Apache runs fine on the C: drive but MySQL wouldn't start. So I compromised and put a copy of each on both drives. Now I run MySQL from the G: drive and Apache from the C: drive.

    Both run and are communicating.......once again thanks everyone for your help..

    Marc
    I'd rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot oodie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Misty Mountain
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did u get any error message? Does it show up on the service list? You can check it from Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services. You should see it listed there.

    If you don't install it on c:\, then you must change my.cnf file. It is included in the distribution with the name my-example.cnf. Open it in a text editor and find the line with variable basedir. Change it to mysql path. Mine is like this:
    basedir = d:/program files/mysql/

    Section 4.13 of the installation manual is also very helpful.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member hpmarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It says that mysql is running but says nothing about apache...does it need to?

    the admin program works and I havn't had any errors.

    Marc
    I'd rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member hpmarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok one more thing.

    I get the error message "my odbc not found" in mysqladmin....what is this and how do I fix it?

    Marc
    I'd rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member hpmarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    fixed...thanks anyway.

    Marc
    I'd rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •