SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Do the menu images dissapear ( IE6)?

    I have been testing a new menu system but some people have been reporting that the menu images dissapear next to the menu items when hovering over them.

    Seems fine from my computer with IE6...

    Anyone else getting this problem? - http://www.hostcompanies.com/csshoveringproblem.htm

    Another issue with the hovering is that the cursor seems to turn into the loading icon momentarily even though the css is in cache.

    Any ideas why it does this?

    Any help appreciated.
    Add your web design / hosting companies to my directory - Web Hosting Directory
    Want to join our panel of experts? - Hosting Forums ( top right of forums -expert drop down box for more info ).

  2. #2
    Winemaster bronze trophy BonRouge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sendai, Japan
    Posts
    2,417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Seems fine...

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot spinball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Harrison Twp., MI
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The problem occurs when IE users have their cache set to "check for newer versions every visit to page". This prevents IE from caching background images and makes them load from the server every time you hover. It's more noticeable from a slower connection. Very common problem. Only one fix I've found that actually works 100% of the time. Link: http://www.webcredible.co.uk/user-fr...-buttons.shtml

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru DocType's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    827
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looks good in IE 5.5

    I did get an error alert when the page loaded Line: 2 Charactor: 1

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by spinball
    The problem occurs when IE users have their cache set to "check for newer versions every visit to page". This prevents IE from caching background images and makes them load from the server every time you hover. It's more noticeable from a slower connection. Very common problem. Only one fix I've found that actually works 100% of the time. Link: http://www.webcredible.co.uk/user-fr...-buttons.shtml
    The problem is, that page does not point out which part of their script fixes this problem, so i am not sure what i would need to change in my css to fix this problem.

    You can see my css at http://www.hostcompanies.com/TMM/p7tm/inavigate.css

    Any help really appreciated.
    Add your web design / hosting companies to my directory - Web Hosting Directory
    Want to join our panel of experts? - Hosting Forums ( top right of forums -expert drop down box for more info ).

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    False alarm, this problem was caused by the new beta google toolbar and once uninstalled it went away.

    So they was nothing wrong with the code in the first place... , sorry for wasting everyones time.
    Add your web design / hosting companies to my directory - Web Hosting Directory
    Want to join our panel of experts? - Hosting Forums ( top right of forums -expert drop down box for more info ).


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •