SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Layer problems>

  1. #1
    Senior Webdesigner koolbrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Layer problems>

    I'm working with dreamweaver 3.0 . I was also used to work with layers. As i consider it's somewhat MUCH easier of placing the image/scripts..... where you want on the page! whereas with tables, the image/scripts is placed only at the top.And when u want to put many tables rows,colums to cover all the page, and if you put an image of (let's say) 29 pixels height, ALL the column will be 29 height!, not good at all! The problem with layers is that the result on the html page is not accurate. That means that the image with the layer appears on a completly different position!, really bad.it's all messed up. What must i do?

    Brian
    BrianStudio - the webdesign company
    Professional & Affordable
    Brian Dove - Senior Graphic Designer
    Direct Hire: info@brianstudio.com

  2. #2
    Senior Webdesigner koolbrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i've tried to convert layers to tables, for it to become more accurate, (means stay the layer stay the same place it was on the dreamweaver, not change place on the I.E browser view!,
    But when i tried to convert layers to tables, they tell me that they couldn't do this because there were layers overlapping!, is there any way of converting it, without having to prevent layer overlapping ???,

    Brian
    BrianStudio - the webdesign company
    Professional & Affordable
    Brian Dove - Senior Graphic Designer
    Direct Hire: info@brianstudio.com

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy TheOriginalH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no - you must make sure they don't overlap
    ~The Artist Latterly Known as Crazy Hamster~
    922ee590a26bd62eb9b33cf2877a00df
    Currently delving into Django, GIT & CentOS

  4. #4
    Senior Webdesigner koolbrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    but here's the problem, it must overlap because i have an image (box), ( Pc stuff), and inside, the content!,
    shouldn't cause any problems!
    Brian
    BrianStudio - the webdesign company
    Professional & Affordable
    Brian Dove - Senior Graphic Designer
    Direct Hire: info@brianstudio.com

  5. #5
    Next stop: PHP! Marina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have read somewhere that you should always place a table inside the layer. Then place all content inside the tables.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by TheOriginalH
    no - you must make sure they don't overlap
    H...

    Layers can overlap. You just have to specify different z-index's. The z-index is the indicator of how "high" a layer is on the page. The higher the number, the more "on top" the layer will be.

    Brian, in the Properties palette for each layer you must set a different number for the z-index. Just make sure that any layer that do overlap have different z-index settings and that should take care of your problem.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  7. #7
    Senior Webdesigner koolbrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what's that Z-index thing?



    Brian
    BrianStudio - the webdesign company
    Professional & Affordable
    Brian Dove - Senior Graphic Designer
    Direct Hire: info@brianstudio.com

  8. #8
    Next stop: PHP! Marina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It tells your browser which layer is on the top of the stacking order, which is on the bottom, and in what order any others should be displayed. The higher the Z-index, the closer to the top the layer is.

    Read more on: http://www.creativepro.com/story/feature/13082.html

    More tutorials:
    http://dbfa.ce.pusan.ac.kr/dblab/mem...pd_layers.html
    http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/...x3a_page2.html

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by koolbrian
    what's that Z-index thing?

    Brian
    I just told you what the z-index is. Read my post Brian. I know that my post didn't cover EVERYTHING that you want to know about it, but since you are using Dreamweaver anyway, it gives you enough to get started.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy TheOriginalH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep, they can overlap happily, but DW will not convert them to tables while they do.

    H
    ~The Artist Latterly Known as Crazy Hamster~
    922ee590a26bd62eb9b33cf2877a00df
    Currently delving into Django, GIT & CentOS

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    right...forgot that part of his post...
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  12. #12
    Senior Webdesigner koolbrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The problem is that when i preview it in a I.E window browser, all the layers are messed up. There don't stay the same place they were in DW. Is there any way of making it stay the same place. It's making me mad, cause my page is all messed up. Could u please tell me how do people do when they work with layers ( layers is the only solution of putting two images one, on another!), with tables, NO-WAYs. Why are all my layers messed up when i preview it. Could somebody tell me a solution?

    Brian
    (forget about the z-index )
    BrianStudio - the webdesign company
    Professional & Affordable
    Brian Dove - Senior Graphic Designer
    Direct Hire: info@brianstudio.com

  13. #13
    Next stop: PHP! Marina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you sure that it isn't Netscape that has a problem with the layers? Theres a fix for that: Commands -> Add/Remove Netscape Resize Fix.

    I don't know why IE has a problem...

  14. #14
    Senior Webdesigner koolbrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i'm sure u didn't understand and i suppose this is the reason why you don't reply. Have a look at http://www.areacool.com/cool.htm (don't worry about the images, they weren't uploaded!). It will all explain. Normally (in DW) the scripts (movies, news, weather,... situated on the site) are ALIGNED NEATLY !, and now, have a look at them on the web!, REALLY MESSED UP, one on another, on went completly down the page,......... Please explain me the problem of using the layers, and why they change places?

    Brian
    BrianStudio - the webdesign company
    Professional & Affordable
    Brian Dove - Senior Graphic Designer
    Direct Hire: info@brianstudio.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •