SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    positioning netscape VS explorer

    Might be a simple question but how can
    I position a div so that it appears on
    the same spot in Netscape and Explorer.
    I'm using STYLE='position:absolute;left:20px;top:50px'>
    but it still shifts a bit in netscape. I've hear netscape
    'pixels' aren't the same as explorer pixels but if so
    is there a formula to get the right pixel size?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    are you specifying 0 page margins? THat might have something to do with it.

    Give us a look at your page.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm using 0 margins in frames. I have a table that
    I'd like to position some descriptive text on.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    make sure that you are setting 0 mrgins on each HTML page as well. That might have something to do with it.

    Also, you need to make sure that you are using both sets of zero margin controls. Unfortunately NS and IE bnoth have their own proprietary attributes for this.

    <body marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" topmargin="0" leftmargin="0">
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by creole
    make sure that you are setting 0 mrgins on each HTML page as well. That might have something to do with it.

    Also, you need to make sure that you are using both sets of zero margin controls. Unfortunately NS and IE bnoth have their own proprietary attributes for this.

    <body marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" topmargin="0" leftmargin="0">
    marginwidth and marginheight is only required by netscape. to set margins 0, use css. like margin : 0px;
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That worked. Thought maybe netscape had some
    weird pixel width but apparently not. Was just the
    margins...

    Thanks a lot!!!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •