SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Photoshop Problems

    I seem to be having trouble with Photoshop 6.0 on Win2k. It was working fine until I logged out and in again, at which point it just plain stopped working.

    I can open it, and it loads, until it gets to "Initializing menus" at which point it freezes. I just installed a multiple desktop app (that might be the problem, but I doubt it).

    I have plenty of RAM so that's not the reason...it's not just going really slowly either. Any ideas?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Could you try uninstalling and reinstalling Photoshop? That's a pretty sure way to get it running well again.

    Also, have you tried restarting?

    And, even though I doubt it will help any, try closing the multiple desktop app and run Photoshop.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think that reinstalling is not really an option for me--I don't have the CD. It may come down to that in the end though...

    I've tried restarting and closing the multidesktop app, but none of those work. Same problem.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quinn...

    Have you looked in the System control panel to see if you're getting any errors?

    Have you tried booting to safe mode then starting Photoshop?

    Have you tried CTRL + ALT + DEL and shut down every app that you can and then start PS?

    Unfortunately, if any of those don't work then I think that reinstalling is going to be your only option.

    You COULD always check out the Adobe Forums...I personally think their forums SUCK, but it's possible that you could find the answer there.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard big_al's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,661
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    Have you done a scandisk (ChDsk) or have you defraged your harddrive? , because photoshop does create a swap file and if it is sitting on some bad sectors or is too badly fragmented.

    If you have installed any plugins try uninstalling them first, they coul also be the cause of your problem.
    .NET Code Monkey

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    Thanks for all the ideas. I'll try them shortly and reply with my results.

    [edit] Ok. I restarted and quit the mutliple desktop app once it came up. Photoshop now works! Thanks for the suggestions. Not quite sure why it didn't help the first time.
    Last edited by qslack; May 30, 2001 at 13:30.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe you can also try downloading the 6.01 update from Adobe.
    My photoshop 6 on win2k works fine. =)
    http://winnielim.com- Portfolio site

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast Forsteen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Okinawa, Japan
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As to what Creole says if a lot of background programs are running you might need to close them out first.

    To stop certain programs from running in the background when your computer boots up go to Start then Run. Type in 'msconfig' without the quotes. This will bring up System Configuration Utility. After you do this click on the start up tab. Take the check marks off all the programs that you definitely don't need. I leave the scan registry, system tray, load power profile, and some others that I don't need when starting up.

    This could possibly help.
    Forsteen
    Law of Probable Dispersal
    Whatever hits the fan will not be evenly distributed.

  9. #9
    Victory shall be mine tubedogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Medina, OH
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually msconfig doesn't work in Win2K. I haven't found an easy way to disable startup programs (besides editing the registry by hand) in Win2K.
    Kevin

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think there is one in Windows 2000...something like msconfig32.

    You can also disable services that load automatically using the Services program within Administrative Tools, but I doubt this will help Quinn's problem.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    56
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Lately i had a lot of problems loading photoshop 6.
    When that's happening, i usually delete the Preferences file and everything get back to normal.(don't know why this happen!)
    on my system (win98) i can find the preferences file right here: Windows\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop\6.0\Adobe Photoshop 6 Settings

    Just thought i would mention this ...it may be of some help !?
    Last edited by cyberbrain; Jun 10, 2001 at 10:45.

  12. #12
    differently saned russbellon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    alternate dementian
    Posts
    399
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    had a similar problem once with photoshop, the new program had installed a different monitor calibration set. sounds like this may be your problem. i don't recall how i fixed it (think i us msconfig to disable the calibration software and reinstalled PS)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •