SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast kdog316's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    upgrading to windows 2000

    I was wondering if i upgrade to Microsoft Windows 2000 Proffessional from Microsoft ME will it format my hard drive
    will haveone soon

  2. #2
    You talkin to me? Anarchos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nope.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast kdog316's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thx now i dont have to go through all the trouble of backing up
    will haveone soon

  4. #4
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should backup anyway - whether you are formatting or not. You never know when a hard drive crash is coming.

    You should partition your hard drive and have a dual boot of ME and 2K.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can't upgrade from Windows Millenium to 2000. I remember I asked this question maybe half a year ago here, and everyone thought so. Then I tried it, and it didn't work. I searched for a while at microsoft.com and found out that it doesn't work.

    You can clean install it to another drive/partition, however, and that works perfectly fine. That way, you can dual-boot.

    As Marc James said, might as well back up anyway.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast kdog316's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i just did this past monday so far so good except minor problems so i guess microsfot was wrong and i didnt do a clean install i did the top choive and i converted my files to ntfs
    will haveone soon

  7. #7
    exit();
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aidan - Yes, you can.

    I have done it..

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you sure? I remember trying several things to get it to work. Perhaps there was an update that lets you do so? I tried upgrading in December I believe, and it didn't work.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I found this:

    http://support.microsoft.com/support...SRCH&SPR=WINME

    I remember getting a message along the lines of:

    "The Operating System you are trying to install is older than the one you currently have. Installer will not continue"

    Did you have to do anything special, Matt?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mjames
    You should backup anyway - whether you are formatting or not. You never know when a hard drive crash is coming.

    You should partition your hard drive and have a dual boot of ME and 2K.
    I did this. Works fine with the two OS's. You just have to get some drivers and stuff afterwards.
    -Wedge231 chris@c-wod.com

    AIM: chriswodman593 | ICQ: 37230642 | MSN: chriswodman@hotmail.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •