SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

serverside project - can I do it and how ?

ok I am not experienced with serverside and kinda shy away from it each time I look into it.. Well now I got a good reason to learn a serverside language...

Heres what I have been asked to do....

My company's (a computer games publisher) marketing dept is contantly dealing with enquiries for game literature and graphics from people in the gaming industry.. They often send out the same content to many people when asked for it.. This can range from game descriptions to high res art work..

So it seems a good idea to create a press site with all of this info on where people can be pointed towards...

What would be perfect would be to have a template.

i.e

GAME NAME
    DESCRIPTION
    BOXSHOT
    SCREENSHOTS
    PRESS RELEASE (word format)
    HIGH RES ART LINKS

etc.......

Then there could be a list of games and people could access all the info they needed...

However our marketing people need to be able to add this in themselves with an online form..

Perhaps you could have a form that passes each form element accross into the template ? I guess there would also need to be an uploading feature for graphics.. Would high res art be a prob here ?

My main q is what would you go with for this ? ASP or PHP ?

We only have nt servers but if php is going to be a lot better it would make sense to sort out a unix server for this as it is an important project...

So hich would be the best for the job ?

where should I start ?

I am gonna sit down and do KEvin Yanks tutorial in a week and I know that will help me. Perhaos I could creat something simular to the joke thing....

Is this possible for me or is it too big a project ?

I basically need pointing in the right direction and your ideas on how to approac the project

Looking forward to your replies..

Cloughie
    Wannabebig Bodybuilding