SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 127
  1. #51
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Qslack - nice headphones.
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  2. #52
    SitePoint Addict Brian Asselin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    New hampshire
    Posts
    202
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mmj


    http://www.mostlyamphigory.com/temp/boring.gif

    Warning: the above image contains: Extreme Boredom.
    Well.. at least it has some texture

  3. #53
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I dislike the icons on the desktop, and the way the desktop was held hostage by Microsoft and friends. So I got rid of the icons. They are hidden.

    The simpler, the better.

    I also have shortcut keys to my disk drives.

    I find that the items I use most are my CD-ROM drives, email, Internet Explorer, music and my control panel so I put them in my quick links bar (or whatever it is called).
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  4. #54
    SitePoint Wizard dominique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    orbis terrarum
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by creole
    YOu aren't left handed by any chance are you?
    Why? The mouse is on the right.

  5. #55
    SitePoint Wizard dominique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    orbis terrarum
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    By coincidence there was an article in a newspaper suppliment that came today about dual monitors. It's a basic articles but it might interest some:

    Q I want to hook up two monitors, one runing at 1024x768 resolution, the other at 800x600 resolution. How can I do that?

    A If you're running short of screen space, adding a second monitor is a cost-effective way to expand. Macs have been able to support multiple monitors for years. Microsoft started supporting multiple monitors with Windows 98. In both cases, the displays can be set to different resolutions.

    In theory, getting two displays working on Windows is as easy as installing a second video card and monitor, opening the Display control panel and clicking on the Settings tab. In practice, getting the two video cards to work together can be tricky. Microsoft has an introductory article online (www.microsoft.com/insider/articles/multimon.htm) that includes reasons why someone would set up multiple monitors and a link to a list of compatible hardware.

    I also recomend a visit to Multi-Monitor Resourses (www.realtimesoft.com/multimon) for a discussion of multiple monitor issues.

    The easiest way to add support for two monitors is to use a dualhead video card: a single card that supports two displays. Companies like Matrox, Appian Graphics, ATI Technologies and ELSA make dualhead cards.

    By Leo Laporte, access magazine, May 27, 2001, p. 2

  6. #56
    SitePoint Zealot the_master's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Google Earth
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    woops

    sorry 4 retard! here we go!
    My desktop:

    http://werewolf.netfirms.com/desktop.gif

    8)

    ~T_M~
    NicheStars - microblogs-network-cms for serious niche marketers.
    Maintain 1000s of blogs on 100s hosts from SINGLE CONTROL PANEL!

  7. #57
    will code HTML for food Michel V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Corsica
    Posts
    552
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    qslack, yes I'm using LiteStep, with a theme named LiteGnome that I customized a bit to fit my needs in aesthetic and functionnality. I find this way more functionnal than Explorer...
    I installed the same thing at work when my second screen was taken away to serve elsewhere, I badly needed several desktops (here there are 4 virtual desktops)
    [blogger: zengun] [blogware contributor: wordpress]

  8. #58
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by dominique
    Why? The mouse is on the right.
    Yes, but the primary monitor is on the right as well.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  9. #59
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the_master...

    Are you using the "chromeless window" trick there in the bottom right of your desktop?

    I would be interested in seeing the code that you are using to get that effect if you don't mind.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  10. #60
    SitePoint Zealot the_master's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Google Earth
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    hhehhee....

    Well...
    See my full desktop? I needed more space on it...
    So I programmed a program in VBasic that loads extra desktop when the computer goes on. You can hide/show it at any time. If you have Microsoft Visual Basic, then it's pretty easy to do it.

    If you need the code for VBasic I will try to find it, because I've done this desktop-program alot time ago...

    Let me know...

    ~T_M~

    NicheStars - microblogs-network-cms for serious niche marketers.
    Maintain 1000s of blogs on 100s hosts from SINGLE CONTROL PANEL!

  11. #61
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by creole


    Yes, but the primary monitor is on the right as well.
    To clear up this little debate, I'm right handed. I use 1600x1200 on both monitors...every other resolution has just too few usable pixels.

    As for alternate shells--I've been looking for one for a while. Litestep doesn't seem to like me; I can't even change themes. The other few I tried were just plain messed up. Any ideas for one that has: multiple desktops, app menus that come up when you click, and a simple taskbar?

  12. #62
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have been looking at desktop enhancements/utilities. Can someone explain to me what is a virtual desktop? How can you need more than one desktop?

  13. #63
    SitePoint Addict Brian Asselin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    New hampshire
    Posts
    202
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mmj
    I dislike the icons on the desktop, and the way the desktop was held hostage by Microsoft and friends. So I got rid of the icons. They are hidden.
    You can use transparent links I use a few (but you couldn't see them) I just use a transparent Icon, with the short named nothing but spaces.

  14. #64
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Nicky
    I have been looking at desktop enhancements/utilities. Can someone explain to me what is a virtual desktop? How can you need more than one desktop?
    Basically, multiple/virtual desktops are like an extra monitor. You can drag windows to any of the desktops and switch to any desktop, but you can only see one at a time. It's sort of hard to explain.

    You don't need more than one desktop...it just helps most people...

  15. #65
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Nicky
    I have been looking at desktop enhancements/utilities. Can someone explain to me what is a virtual desktop? How can you need more than one desktop?
    Most of the time this is seen in Linux, although I have seen a couple of Windows programs that try to do the same thing. Quinn did a good job of explaining it, but here I go anyway...

    A virtual desktop works just like a normal desktop. It is used for organizational purposes...you can have one "Main" desktop, a desktop for browsing the Internet, a desktop for chatting, etc.
    Originally posted by qslack
    Any ideas for one that has: multiple desktops, app menus that come up when you click, and a simple taskbar?
    I am not caught up in this thread, but have you tried the Stardock program that claims to do that? I used it before...it was OK. http://www.stardock.com/

  16. #66
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I already have most of the Stardock programs I'm looking for something like Enlightenment for Windows.

    BTW--I found a great multiple desktop app for Windows. Go to http://www.astonshell.com/ and scroll down to "ALTDESK".

  17. #67
    busy Steelsun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Houston, Tejas; Future Capital of the World
    Posts
    2,474
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's mine - fairly boring since I have to share this computer with the wife.

    http://www.steel-sun.com/images/desktop.jpg
    It's set at 1024 x 768 (but the pics only 600 x 450 or something and about 77K)

    The BG is from the last album by the all time power trio (and maybe all time best rockers) Rush.
    Brian Poirier
    SunStockPhoto: Stock Photos, Fine Art Photos, Event Photography

  18. #68
    SitePoint Addict Brian Asselin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    New hampshire
    Posts
    202
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Steelsun
    Here's mine - fairly boring since I have to share this computer with the wife.

    http://www.steel-sun.com/images/desktop.jpg
    It's set at 1024 x 768 (but the pics only 600 x 450 or something and about 77K)

    The BG is from the last album by the all time power trio (and maybe all time best rockers) Rush.
    Don't know what OS you're using (looks like Win9x to me) but you should set up different users, that what I do, I get my own theme, screen saver, look and feel, etc... (Screen Saver is Harley Davidson 25TH anniversary edition from the H-D Website a few years back in case you were wondering)

  19. #69
    SitePoint Enthusiast kdog316's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Heres mine notcie how it isnt cluttered with icons to the right of the start button that just takes up ram http://diablo2.photographiclee.com/ss.jpg
    will haveone soon

  20. #70
    SitePoint Addict Seer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Lyons, Colorado
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'll warn anyone on dialup in advance.. It's fairly large image (140k) Anyway, here's my desktop.. I call it... Tranquility.

    http://centrice.net/screenshot.jpg
    Everything has been figured out, except how to live. - Jean-Paul Sartre (1905-1980)

  21. #71
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have that background image. It's rad isn't it?
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  22. #72
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That background is really cool...where did you two get it from?

  23. #73
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    alright, here's mine:

    http://www.gravitydigital.com/misc_uploads/desktop.jpg

    it's about 120k.

    Isn't open space beautiful?

    By the way, I always have auto-hide turned on for the toolbar, I just turned it off so you could see some of the things I have going on.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  24. #74
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Creole: Ah, I commend you...I think that all Windows installations should come with an auto-hide top taskbar by default. Nice wallpaper, btw.

    Does the ruler in the bottom left serve a purpose, or is it just a part of the wallpaper?

  25. #75
    SitePoint Enthusiast DCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've got a STB card that supports 4 monitors -- picked it up at a computer fair about a year ago -- don't know why, I've only got one monitor

    Why on earth would someone want four monitors? -- another waste of money!
    Can someone tell me why the little voices in my head made me buy it?
    DCE
    If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked
    something.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •