SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast UrbanFirefly's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Can I change the background colors in tables w/CSS?

Hey all -

I am planning on converting my site to CSS over tables, but I am still learning, and in the meantime I have a display problem in Firefox - (of course!)

I have my CSS set up with the overall background color, but then it does not show the color of any of the columns in the table. It not only is messing with my design, but readability as well!

It also seems to be over-riding my color tags for text when they are in the HTML. I thought the hierarchy allowed for for in-body over-rides....

If you want to check it out, it is urbanfirefly.com

Please don't laugh - good bad and ugly, it's all my coding, and I've worked HARD on it! Completely self-taught, hence my many shortcomings.

The CSS I have come up with so far is:

<style type="text/css">
    body {background-color: #c0ff80;}
    body{color: #000080;}
    a{color: #000080;}
    a:visited{color: #663366;}
    a:active{color: #663366;}
    p.right {text-align: right}
    p.center {text-align: center}
    p {font-family: maiandra gd}
    p {font-size: 18px}
    p.sansserif {font-family: sans-serif}
    span.highlight {background-color:yellow}
    </style>

The tags that don't work in FF looke like this:

<td valign="top" bgcolor="3399FF" width="125">
    <font face="maiandra gd, Verdana, Arial, sans-serif" size="2" color="ffff0f">

Hmmm... looking at this, I just thought... would it work in IE and FF if I change it to:

<font face="maiandra gd, Verdana, Arial, sans-serif" size="2" color="#ffff0f"> or something close?

Thanks!

PS - My site is NOT dynamic!! I am hoping to learn how to do that here, so not all pages are all spruced up recently, and I took the BGcolor off of the index page recently. I will put it back as soon as I get this figured out!