SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Can pictures be stored in mySQL?

I have a site with jokes/pictures I have recently decided to put the tons of jokes/pictures I have into mySQL and PHP.

I started by making the 'picture' database:

CREATE TABLE pictures (
    ID INT NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY,
    Title TEXT,
    Date DATE NOT NULL
    Vote INT
    );

Now I will be having links to my pictures on my main page. The links will be like this: site.com/pictures/1.php etc.

Now when the user follows the link the picture template page will appear, and the php part will call from the mySQL database: the picture, date, title, current average vote

Now here is my question: Where will I store the actual picture? I know for the jokes I can store the joke's text in tin mySQL but what about storing pictures? Can pictures be stored in mySQL?

Thanks in advance! As you can probably see from my post that I started learning PHP and mySQL a day or so ago
    Last edited by luchazard; May 26, 2001 at 09:42.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is possible to put an image in a mySQL database using the BLOB (binary Large OBject) field type, but it's not at all recommended. It's very tricky getting the image in there, and it's a very inefficient way of using mySQL.

A much better alternative is to have a directory on your webserver called something like /dbimages/ and to save image files in there, renaming the image to that it's file name matches the ID field in your database. For example, 1.jpg would be the file associated with record ID number 1 in the database table.

To do this you need to figure out how to upload images via a web form. I've never done this personally but there are plenty of excellent tutorials on the subject. Once the image is uploaded simply use PHP file commands to copy the file into the directory and rename it to whatever.jpb

http://blazonry.com/scripting/upload-size.html