SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Newbie: probably a daftly simple question about reloading web pages

I am an intermediately-skilled web designer working on a database driven site for my company, and learning php and mysql at the same time. I have what I think is probably a basic question, but I'm stuck with it.

I have created a simple login system that allows users to type in a password (which allows them to see dicounted prices on product pages), and I've put the login form at the top of each page so that viewers can login from anywhere in the site. What I want to do is, after typing in a password, the viewer is taken to a 'login successful/unsuccessful' page and then get taken back to the page they were at. I can take them to the success/fail page but how do I then take them back to the page they logged in on, after a 3-second delay? I need to be able to program this in PHP.

Any help is gratefully appreciated. I'm sure this is just some simple referral code thing, but I'm still learning HTML and CSS as well as PHP and MySQL.

Thanks,

Matt

SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    HTML Code:
    <meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="3;url=/index.php">
    Note that you should also have a link on the 'successful/unsuccessful' page, because not every browser supports this redirect method. Also, client-side redirects can cause accessibility problems, especially for people who don't read quickly enough. Some people may not be able to read your 'successful/unsuccessful' message in 3 seconds.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)