SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 35 of 35
  1. #26
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think the best way is to let the user choose and change the language via a set of links. These links can be put at the very top of the page, or somewhere obvious. The links can be written in text using UTF-8 encoding, or use images, but it should be written in the designated language. So it doesn't really make sense to have the language links written all in English.

    Another point in php to remember is the string functions. If you multi-byte languages, e.g. eastern asian languages CJK (Chinese, Japanses, Korean), then functions like "strlen", "substr" will NOT work, you need to see the MB String functions, http://au2.php.net/mbstring

    Other point to consider is collation if sorting is required. This gets tricky in php as the collation is depedent on the server platform.

    Wei.

  2. #27
    eCommerce specialist hotnuts21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberystwyth, UK
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just as a side thought, you could always download the open source CMS Mambo and install the mambelfish component. You will then have a full CMS with multilanguage capabilities. Although it does take the time, effort and fun out of building your own app.
    Search & Rescue Aberystwyth Lifeboat
    CSS Tutorials/Guides

    Sitepoint signatures are not visible to Search Engines More info

  3. #28
    SitePoint Addict Jack Matier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    292
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by hotnuts21
    Just as a side thought, you could always download the open source CMS Mambo and install the mambelfish component. You will then have a full CMS with multilanguage capabilities. Although it does take the time, effort and fun out of building your own app.

    I know this may sound silly, actually it may sound like i'm jumping to conclusions since I never even heard of mambo, but from the looks of it it's a website translator right? (like babelfish, but for websites)

    Really, I don't think I'd recommend to do it this way, unless they have improved the translation accuracy a bit

  4. #29
    eCommerce specialist hotnuts21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberystwyth, UK
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mambo is a php/mysql based content management system. Its a fully functioning website. You can install a component(plugin) called mambelfish which is the translation component.

    This allows you to manually add in the translation for just about everything. Then you user choices which language they want and its shown to them.

    take a look at www.certacorp.com its a site I did for someone using mambo. Its not a website translator, and nothing is done automatically.
    Search & Rescue Aberystwyth Lifeboat
    CSS Tutorials/Guides

    Sitepoint signatures are not visible to Search Engines More info

  5. #30
    SitePoint Addict Jack Matier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    292
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hey, that's pretty nifty and nice

  6. #31
    SitePoint Zealot ceefour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bandung, Indonesia
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Never heard of Mambo? Wow!

    I never heard of it a month ago. But now I'm using it in my http://dev.gauldong.net site.
    It's very good and user friendly. Albeit I've discovered a VERY SERIOUS BUG regarding database, but I think it's one of the Mambo's components which is the culprit.

    Reminds me of the old days when my site (and thousands of others) got hacked because of phpBB exploit (and the saga continues...)

    You should take a look at ez publish, typo3, and also the ones at opensourcecms.com as you can try these.

    BTW actually you can just rip apart the framework for your favorite CMS and use that to build your app. Or better, you can just use the CMS as is and build your app as a module/extension/component/whatever of it. It's much easier that way.

  7. #32
    eCommerce specialist hotnuts21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberystwyth, UK
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you think you found a bug in mambo, please report it over at the official mambo site
    Or if it is a bug, there is probably already a patch available for it over there.
    Search & Rescue Aberystwyth Lifeboat
    CSS Tutorials/Guides

    Sitepoint signatures are not visible to Search Engines More info

  8. #33
    SitePoint Addict Jack Matier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    292
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Never heard of Mambo? Wow!
    Okay, I admit that I've been pretty ignorant of Content Management Systems and any other script out there that does something happily for me. I am pretty much a write my own code from scratch kinda guy, but I also think that I realize the benefits of looking at another person's source code. It's a downfall of mine that I don't do that nearly as much as I should..

  9. #34
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    85
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ceefour
    actually you can just rip apart the framework for your favorite CMS and use that to build your app
    WHOA THERE! Someone needs to read and understand the terms of the GPL if they are going to be selling any of this code!!

    Aside from that: Mambo is good if you want a solution-in-a-box, but it's still not standards driven I believe, and is a bit 'boxy'. If you want a *real* content management system, check out what you can do with eZpublish at http://ez.no/ez_publish/references - some of the sites there are just blinding and they follow standards generally too. Bit of a learning curve though.

    Thanks for all the info about languages - I quite like the system that osCommerce uses, never had a problem with that. It has a folder containing subfolders with each languages individual language files - easy to make a translation. Not sure what happens when you put *loads* of languages in there though...

  10. #35
    SitePoint Zealot LSW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by optimus prime
    I'm not sure what the code for it is, but it might be best to detect what country they are coming from, and somehow have a default language for that country.
    I would have to disagree. I live in Germany, but I am US American and all the sites I use regularly are in English. I do not surf German sites much. I find it irritating to call up a .com site and get German, if I want German I will use DE. Google is bad at that, I request Google.com and it feeds me Google.de and I have to manually switch. If I wanted Google.de I would write Google.de.
    Thank You, Migwetth, Gunalche’esh, Ha’w'aa, Danke

    Kyle Lamson




Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •