SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Always have a autoincrement 'id' column as primary key in a table?

Hi,

I have been working for 2 yrs now...at the same company...and have been 'taught' to have an autoincrement id field (also primary key) in each table i create, then use that to link to other tables etc. I have had no problems using this technique thus far, but have been told its not a good way of doing it.

Is this a bad way of designing databases, if so how should i be doing it?

Regards,
    Bjorn

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't see why it would be any worse than any other way of doing it. Its the way I do it, but I name mine "cust_id" and "order_id" etc, etc.

If it works, and it doesn't cause problems, I wouldn't worry about it - unless anyone else can put me straight here...

SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    a surrogate id is a good idea if (1) the real primary key is composite or large, and (2) the table has child (related) tables

otherwise, it is not necessary

[stand well back, the above is sure to draw some comment from relational theorists]

what's bad is declaring a surrogate key and then forgetting to also declare a unique constraint on the "real" key, resulting in yet another "how do i remove duplicate rows" thread on some forum

and totally useless is an associative or relationship table with its own surrogate key, as in

create table bookauthors
    ( id integer not null primary key auto_increment
    , book_id integer not null
    , author_id integer not null
    )

far better is this --

create table bookauthors
    ( book_id integer not null
    , author_id integer not null
    , primary key (book_id, author_id)
    )
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)