SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    MYSQL + PHPmyadmin - Localhost HELP

    I can login to MYSQL via PHPmyadmin via the localhost. But how on earth can I login from outside the localhost?

    Help

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict phpster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    374
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you would need to setup an account that allows the user to login from anywhere

    see here
    phpster

    I wish my computer would do what I want it to.
    Not what I tell it to do...

  3. #3
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    if phpmyadmin runs on 'localhost', that means you have apache or IIS running you can then access the machine from anywhere (http://<ip>) and you don't need to allow any logins from external addresses.

    Edit:

    ISS/IIS typo corrected

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict phpster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    374
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    perhaps the question is not clearly stated. i use phpmyadmin(PMA) to remote admin several dbs and I use a remote copy of PMA to admin dbs that are not accessible from a web environment (where the db server is not exposed to the 'net). So which option is the OP looking to use?
    phpster

    I wish my computer would do what I want it to.
    Not what I tell it to do...

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I got it!

    I am running Apache, PHP, MYSQL & PHPmyadmin. Everything runs 100% - no issues. BUt if I want to access PHPmyadmin from outside the localhost, It gives me page not found - or it will show the PHPmyadmin with the images of the page missing. All the websites run 100% - Just PHPmyadmin hadissues from outside the LOCALHOST.

    I figured it out...

    config.inc.php - $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'http://localhost/phpmyadmin/';

    I changed it to the domain name & it worked...

    How do I create a login for PHPmyadmin...if I am the ADMIN and I have other users, how can I set it up - so everybody has different access??


  6. #6
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Use the 'privilidges' option from the front page menu to add access rights using phpmyadmin. Just remember to flush them before trying to login as a new user.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Tried but...

    Ok ..It seems that this works...But how do I prevent the user from seeing all the DATABASES on the site?

  8. #8
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by teamz
    Ok ..It seems that this works...But how do I prevent the user from seeing all the DATABASES on the site?
    remove the users global access, and instead give them access to specific databases.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •