SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I run an online business writing verse and designing cards. My active site was written by a programmer (who no longer is in this line of business) and I am at present, learning and building my new one by myself.

I am using Dreamweaver to do this but the problem I'm having is how to set the variables. Previously it was done using javascript and forcing each page into a frameset(I only have 13 cards on the active site but intend to upload more than sixty on the new site.) I would prefer not to use framesets on the new version.

I have designed a series of pop-up windows, each displaying a card design, when activated. In these windows, I have an "order this cardstyle" button which I want to, when clicked, read as 'true'. I know this is obvious but please bear with me, I'm a novice.

This should then be seen, when going to the order form page, as a checked radio button that corresponds with the same cardstyle that was clicked on that specific page.

My worry is that if the visitor goes to another page in search of other card designs, the card style reading as 'true' will be returned back to 'false'. Hhence the need for global variables.

I would like for the user to be able to order more than one cardstyle, should they require it, (though in most cases, the user is likely to choose only one). Therefore the radio buttons are not an 'either/or', they are an 'and'. For this purpose, I have just used radio buttons, however, there will be a need to use list boxes in order for the visitor to choose one of up to six colourways.

I have been advised by a fellow member here to use php language but know absolutely nothing about it (neither do I know that much about any other languages but I'm learning).

Would anyone be able to assist me in solving this problem or at least tell me where I can visit to find out?

Also, am I able to mix languages e.g. javascript and php?