SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist lance_vincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    574
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PHP and MySQL 5 connection

    This is urgent, please help me!!

    I have just finished doing my web application in apache 2.0.50, php 4.3.8 and mysql 4.0.20a. Now im going to use replication for it, a two way replication. the problem is that two way replication doesnt go steady with mysql 4 if your using auto increment tables. so i wrote to mysql and said that this auto-increment problem was fixed with mysql 5. so i uninstall mysql 4 and changed it to 5. But now, i have a problem, i cant connect to mysql via browser with php, but i can connect to the database with the command promt. what am i doing wrong?

    This is urgent, please help!!

    Thanks Everyone!!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard guelphdad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    St. Catharines, ON Canada
    Posts
    1,707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you likely need to use msqli_connect instead of mysql_connect. I'm not 100% certain this is it, i'm not using PHP lately but seem to remember there is a change needed when you switch to mysql 4.1 or above. Check the PHP threads for info.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist lance_vincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    574
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks, i have just read that one also, but i think that is available on php 5. now i upgraded to php 5, and everything is going smotthly. the last part is about the loding of module, now known as extension. everything that i uncomment seems to be detected, except php_mysql.dll!!! ****!! sorry for that one, but im desperate, this is urgent matter for me. PLease help me dave, can you ask others to post!! im uninstalling everything at i will try to start from scratch to make everything clean.

    Thanks man!!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard guelphdad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    St. Catharines, ON Canada
    Posts
    1,707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you running on Windows XP by any chance? You didn't specify your OS. If you are look at using XAMPP at apachefriends.org this will set you up in no time. You can even upgrade mysql into the same directory spot (rename and move the old mysql directory). Last time I checked they had not updated mysql part to 4.1 from 4.0.x

    XAMPP takes only a few minutes to install apache, php, mysql, phpmyadmin and more.

  5. #5
    Employed Again Viflux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, On.
    Posts
    1,127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, the *_li functions are for using a new "database", SQL-Lite. You can find more information on it elsewhere on these forums.

    To solve the missing module problem, you'll have to copy your php_mysql.dll and libmysql.dll files into your system (WINDOWS/system32) folder.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist lance_vincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    574
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by daveman
    Are you running on Windows XP by any chance? You didn't specify your OS. If you are look at using XAMPP at apachefriends.org this will set you up in no time. You can even upgrade mysql into the same directory spot (rename and move the old mysql directory). Last time I checked they had not updated mysql part to 4.1 from 4.0.x

    XAMPP takes only a few minutes to install apache, php, mysql, phpmyadmin and more.

    yes, im using xp. i have heard about xammp, but id like to setup the thing myself to gain knowledge about it. Ive heard its really good, nut it lacks mysql 5, remember? hehehe.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist lance_vincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    574
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Viflux
    Actually, the *_li functions are for using a new "database", SQL-Lite. You can find more information on it elsewhere on these forums.

    To solve the missing module problem, you'll have to copy your php_mysql.dll and libmysql.dll files into your system (WINDOWS/system32) folder.

    Thanks for the suggestion, ill be on it right now!!

    Thanks man!!

  8. #8
    SitePoint Evangelist lance_vincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    574
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Viflux
    Actually, the *_li functions are for using a new "database", SQL-Lite. You can find more information on it elsewhere on these forums.

    To solve the missing module problem, you'll have to copy your php_mysql.dll and libmysql.dll files into your system (WINDOWS/system32) folder.
    Thanks viflux!! now in phpinfo, mysql is present!! just one last question, im after mysql 5, and i have to use the new function mysqli_connect, will php_mysql.dll work or do i have to extend the php_mysqli.dll to support this?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •