SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wireless home network (Linksys)

    I want to share a cable modem with a 2nd computer in the house (wireless).

    Computer A is where the cable modem is. Computer B I want to add.

    Do I understand this right? I think I need:

    Linksys Wireless-B Broadband Router (for Computer A) http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...id=35&prid=544

    WUSB11 Instant Wireless USB Network Adaptor (for Computer B) http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...id=435&scid=36

    Is this all I need? What about inside the computers? Does there need to be a network card or something?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    - Michael - Bytecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You will need a network card for computer A to connect it to the router. It is likely that you already have one of these, look for an ethernet port at the back of your computer (Example - http://housing.uark.edu/resnet/image...ModemPorts.gif) If you do have one of these, great, you do not need any thing else.

    If you do not you will need to buy a network card. (http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...id=30&prid=479) which will be installed into computer A.

  3. #3
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you planning on transferring files between the two computers or playing games? If so, I would not get a Wireless-B router. You should either get the Wireless-G
    or (if you want very fast transfers) Wireless-G with SpeedBooster. I'd also go for a PCI adapter rather than a USB one. So, either this one for the Wireless-G router or this one for the Wireless-G with SpeedBooster

    Having said all that though, I'd personally go for Netgear's DG834GT - Netgear make very good kit and it looks fantastic too!

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  4. #4
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Xen1969
    I want to share a cable modem with a 2nd computer in the house (wireless).

    Computer A is where the cable modem is. Computer B I want to add.

    Do I understand this right? I think I need:

    Linksys Wireless-B Broadband Router (for Computer A) http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...id=35&prid=544

    WUSB11 Instant Wireless USB Network Adaptor (for Computer B) http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...id=435&scid=36

    Is this all I need? What about inside the computers? Does there need to be a network card or something?

    Thanks.
    I have a similar setup - one cable modem, 10/100 from cable modem to desktop (could use wireless), and a WIFI card for the laptop. I think speedbooster would be a waste of money - cable only uses a fraction of the bandwidth available to 802.11g. I watch movies, play music, transfer files, etc. over WIFI and it's always been fast enough. Companies are coming out with tri-mode WIFI or something (they have three antennas) that improves range and bandwidth. Then there's preliminary 802.11n.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Go for a Linksys g wireless. You can then flash it with 3rd party firmware and it's the dogs bxxxxxx.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard mark_W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Midlands, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,631
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by seanf
    Netgear make very good kit
    Really? I had a netgear router and it sucked....! Maybe I was just unlucky!

  7. #7
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mark_W
    Really?
    Yes, see my post above

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru MikeBigg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    970
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by seanf
    I can recomment this ... I use one at home and it works very well.
    It is one of those "fit and forget" type things. I rarely need do anything with it as it just works.

    Mike

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict mickmel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    274
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Linksys WRT54G - Best router you can get. Get one.
    MickMel.com - My portfolio, etc.
    @mickmel - Twitter
    Google Earth Hacks - Fun stuff for Google Earth.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thanks!

    I wanted to thank all of you for your help and recommendations.

    I went with the Wireless G and wireless PCI adaptor from Linksys.

    The quick start documentation and setup CD left something to be desired (they don't match at some places) but after some messing around I got it to work.

    I skipped over the security stuff (left it disabled) so I have to go back and do that. Apparently I just enter the same passphrase on each system and it makes up a WEP key for that passphrase? Is that right?

    Is there anything else I need to do to "lock the doors" ? I installed ZoneAlarm Pro as my firewall.

    There was something else about disabling SSID broadcasting... but I wasn't sure if this would also disable my adaptor from receiving the router's signal so I left it enabled.

    Sitepoint rocks.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member sethnick99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wireless is unrealiable

    Wireless is so unrealiable. Just wire the place using gig E. That is fast and very nice. If you do do wireless make sure to set MAC adress filtering and or Encrytion.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •