SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    md
    Posts
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    No status property in Mozilla for popunders

    Does anyone know how to get rid of the status property in mozilla for popunders. I have status=no, and it works in IE, but in mozilla it still shows the status.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy dc dalton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Right behind you, watching, always watching.
    Posts
    5,431
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    according to everything Ive read the status bar will always show - quoting them "for security reasons"

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    md
    Posts
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, Do you or anyone else know if the status bar can be minipulated, as in adding static text to it?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy dc dalton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Right behind you, watching, always watching.
    Posts
    5,431
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ive tried but it ignores things like window.status ="some text"; (some code where I wanted to watch timeouts count)

    You might want to check over at the Mozilla developers site:

    http://www.mozilla.org/developer/

    I personally am NOT a big fan of the status bar and always thought those scrolling status messages and what not were just a TAD too cheesy for me so to be honest I mostly ignore the thing!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Aficionado JVLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    N 44 56.537' W 123 3.683'
    Posts
    1,127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This works on IE 6 & Moz 1.7:

    Code:
     <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
     <html>
     <head>
     <title>Untitled</title>
     <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
     </head>
     <body>
     <div onmouseover="window.status='Whoa!';" 
       onmouseout="window.status='Wha?';"
       style="height:300px;width:200px;background:#dee;">
     </div>
     </body>
     </html>

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy dc dalton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Right behind you, watching, always watching.
    Posts
    5,431
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes it does work in Mozilla but Firefox is the one that says NO!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy blufive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IIRC, here's how it works in recent releases of Moz/firefox:

    The status bar itself will always be shown, to ensure that the https "lock" icon (and associated domain, if shown) is always visible, if applicable. This is primarily an anti-phishing measure, but it also works as a more general-purpose way of making it harder for a website to deceive the user about what's going on.

    For some time now, moz-based browsers have allowed the user to set a preference which prevents pages from using javascript to manipulate the messages in the status bar. In firefox, this preference is set by default, but I think it's off by default in mozilla. Again, this preference is a security measure. It makes it harder for a site to deceive the user about link targets, and also blocks annoying fripperies like scrolling status bar messages.

  8. #8
    &#083;itePoint Aficionado JVLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    N 44 56.537' W 123 3.683'
    Posts
    1,127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It might also be worth noting that the window.status property is a browser convention, not a DOM specification. Therefore, providing access to the property is at the discretion of the browser's creators.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •